nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Health of the Rideau River


A species of arrowhead.
A species of arrowhead.

Rich Biodiversity
According to results of the Project and previous research, the Rideau River is home to a wide variety of native species:


Eastern elliptios, Elliptio complanata.
Eastern elliptios, Elliptio complanata.

No Species in Peril

 

The River in Good Health?

The Rideau River, near Andrewsville.
The Rideau River, near Andrewsville.

Contrary to public perception the Rideau River is in relatively good health. Knowing the intensity with which a large number of people (not to mention thousands of boats) use it, even the scientists who studied the River for three years were surprised at the richness and diversity of species they found.

According to their analyses, the biodiversity of the River Rideau is similar to that of other Ontario rivers of similar size. As for the water quality, however, fertilizer levels are slightly higher in the Rideau River than in other rivers.

A Fragile Balance
Rideau River Biodiversity Project researchers' conclusions suggest that the health of the Rideau River is pretty good. The environment, however, is fragile. Scientists have found that there are three significant threats to the stability and health of its fauna and flora.

Bullet.
Green frog, Lithobates clamitans.
Green frog, Lithobates clamitans.
Shoreline development - The greatest threat to the biodiversity of the Rideau River is shoreline development. Often associated with building construction, development of the shoreline reduces the variety and abundance of natural habitats. For example, amphibians and reptiles are threatened by the limited availability of nesting and basking sites along certain areas of the River. Minnows and juvenile fish are threatened by fluctuating water levels and water turbidity.
Bullet. Exotic species - The invasion of exotic plants and animals threatens the survival of native species. Native freshwater mussels in particular are under serious threat from the invasion of zebra mussels.
Bullet. Fertilizers - Levels of phosphorus are high in the downtown Ottawa area, thereby causing an explosion of aquatic plant and algae growth.

A damselfly of the genus Enallagma captures a beetle.
A damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma captures a beetle.
These threats have already led to the disappearance of several species of native freshwater mussels, and possibly the sensitive eastern silvery minnow. The survival of certain reptiles and amphibians is also jeopardized in certain parts of the River.

It is not known how much biodiversity can be lost before the entire ecosystem is unable to sustain itself any longer. Evidence of this disaster would be found in scarcity of wildlife and poor water quality.

Shoreline Preservation
Maintaining the diversity of the shorelines along the Rideau River is the best way of ensuring a healthy river. In order to protect the River's biodiversity and maintain its good health for many years, the entire community will have to work together to ensure that
Bullet. existing shoreline habitats remain,
Bullet. trees are replanted in denuded areas,
Bullet. phosphorus in the River is reduced by at least 10%.

 

 Health of the River  
Bullet. 
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
  
 Images: Chris Allaway, Thomas Cook, Ed Hendrycks, André Martel, Diane Pathy

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
 
L'état de santé de la rivière


Une espèce de sagittaire.
Une espèce de sagittaire.

Une riche biodiversité
Selon les résultats du Projet et de recherches antérieures, la rivière Rideau abrite une grande variété d'espèces indigènes :


Elliptios maigres de l'Est, Elliptio complanata.
Elliptios maigres de l'Est, Elliptio complanata.

Pas d'espèce en péril

 

Une rivière en bonne santé?

La rivière Rideau près d'Andrewsville.
La rivière Rideau près d'Andrewsville.

Si l'on considère le nombre élevé de personnes qui fréquentent la rivière et les milliers d'embarcations qui la sillonnent, la rivière Rideau est relativement en bonne santé. Elle est beaucoup plus saine que ne le pense le public et même les scientifiques qui l'ont étudiée durant trois ans ont été surpris de la richesse et de la diversité des espèces qu'ils y ont trouvées.

Selon leur analyse, la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau est comparable à celle d'autres rivières de taille similaire en Ontario. Toutefois, sur le plan de la qualité de l'eau, la concentration de fertilisants est légèrement plus élevée dans la rivière Rideau que dans d'autres cours d'eau.

Un équilibre fragile
Bref, le bilan de santé tracé par les chercheurs du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau est encourageant. La rivière demeure cependant un système fragile. Les scientifiques ont relevé trois menaces bien réelles qui pèsent sur son équilibre et sur la santé de sa faune et de sa flore.

Puce.
Grenouille verte, Lithobates clamitans.
Grenouille verte, Lithobates clamitans.
Aménagement des rives -- C'est ce qui menace le plus la biodiversité de la rivière. Les projets d'aménagement des rives, souvent liés à la construction immobilière, réduisent la variété et l'abondance des habitats où les diverses espèces peuvent se réfugier. Par exemple, les amphibiens et les reptiles disposent de moins de sites de nidification et d'aires de repos qu'auparavant dans certaines sections de la rivière. Par ailleurs, la turbidité de l'eau, qui est directement attribuable à l'aménagement des rives, et la fluctuation des niveaux d'eau menacent les ménés et les jeunes poissons.
Puce. Espèces exotiques -- L'invasion de plantes et d'animaux exotiques menace la survie des espèces indigènes. Les moules d'eau douce indigènes, en particulier, souffrent gravement de l'invasion des moules zébrées.
Puce. Fertilisants -- Les teneurs en phosphore sont trop élevées dans la grande ville d'Ottawa et ses environs, ce qui cause du même coup une surabondance de plantes aquatiques et d'algues.

Nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma capturant un coléoptère.
Nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma capturant un coléoptère.
Ces menaces ont déjà entraîné la disparition de plusieurs espèces de moules d'eau douce indigènes et peut-être d'une espèce fragile de méné, le méné d'argent. Elles font aussi peser un stress certain sur les reptiles et les amphibiens dans certaines parties de la rivière.

On ne sait pas jusqu'à quel point il peut y avoir perte de biodiversité avant que l'écosystème tout entier devienne incapable de survivre, ce qui se solderait par une eau de mauvaise qualité et une faune très limitée.

Préserver les rives
Le meilleur moyen de conserver l'état de santé de la rivière Rideau est d'assurer la diversité de ses rives. Pour préserver la biodiversité de la rivière et maintenir son état de santé durant de nombreuses années, les citoyens devront travailler ensemble pour assurer :
Puce. la préservation des habitats actuels le long des rives;
Puce. le reboisement des terrains les plus dégarnis;
Puce. une réduction de 10 p. 100 des déversements de phosphore dans la rivière.

 

 L'état de santé de la rivière  
Puce. 
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Chris Allaway, Thomas Cook, Ed Hendrycks, André Martel, Diane Pathy