nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais  
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater Quality BiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
Water Quality

 

Negligible Concentrations of Metals

Bottles.

Metals are micronutrients for aquatic plants and animals. They are required in trace amounts to build strong cell walls and membranes and contribute to cell growth, photosynthesis and respiration.

Metals occur naturally in aquatic systems, leaching into the water from rocks, soils and bottom sediment. Except for aluminum, the small amounts of metals found in the Rideau River during the Project were well below the acceptable maximum levels set by the Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for Freshwater Aquatic Life. [11] Aluminum levels were slightly above the maximum acceptable level in 5 of the 36 samples taken in 1999.

Potamogeton sp.
A species of Potamogeton.

It is not known why aluminium concentrations were higher in some samples. It is possible that the higher levels may be laboratory or sampling errors.

In some Ontario waterbodies, metals have become pollutants because they are present in concentrations that are greater than the trace amounts required by aquatic life. Industrial activities may release metals into the water through their effluent. Fortunately, there are no industrial activities along the Rideau River. Acid rain also contributes to higher levels of metals in a waterbody because it accelerates leaching from rocks and soils.

Mud amnicola, Amnicola limnosus.
Mud amnicola, Amnicola limnosus.
Dissolved Salts: Needed by Bacteria
Dissolved salts, called ions, are important, naturally occurring components of freshwater. They enter the water from eroded rocks and soil.

Bacteria require the salts in order to synthesise proteins, which are necessary for plant and animal growth. However, if the ion level is too high, aquatic plants and animals may have difficulty developing.

The Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for Freshwater Aquatic Life [11] does not comment on levels of dissolved salts in natural bodies of freshwater because naturally concentrations vary widely, depending on the surrounding rocks and soil.

No abnormalities were noticed in Rideau River water samples taken during the Project. Analysis has revealed that concentrations of the sodium and chlorine found in the salt used on nearby roads were small.

 

Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Bullet. 
Bullet. 
Arrow.  
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Lynn Gillespie, Ed Hendrycks, Andy Ormsby, Judy Redpath

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Qualité de l'eau

 

Des concentrations négligeables de métaux

Bouteilles.

Les métaux sont des micronutriments pour les plantes et les animaux aquatiques. Leur absorption en petite quantité est nécessaire à la constitution de membranes et de parois cellulaires solides et elle contribue à la croissance des cellules, à la photosynthèse et à la respiration.

Les métaux sont naturellement présents dans les systèmes aquatiques, où ils sont transportés sous l'effet de l'érosion des roches et du lessivage des sols et des dépôts de fond. Pendant toute la durée du Projet, leur concentration dans la rivière Rideau a été négligeable et bien inférieure aux niveaux acceptables définis dans les Recommandations pour la qualité des eaux au Canada en vue de la protection de la vie aquatique [11], à l'exception de l'aluminium, dont la teneur a été légèrement supérieure aux maximums acceptables établis dans 5 des 36 échantillons prélevés en 1999.

Potamogeton sp.
Potamogeton sp.

On ignore pourquoi les concentrations d'aluminium ont été plus élevées dans certains échantillons. Il est possible qu'il s'agisse d'erreurs d'analyse ou d'échantillonnage.

Dans certains plans d'eau de l'Ontario, les métaux sont devenus des polluants parce qu'ils se trouvent en concentration élevée alors que la vie aquatique n'en requiert qu'une infime quantité. Les effluents déversés dans ces eaux par les industries peuvent contenir des métaux. Heureusement, il n'y a pas d'industrie près de la rivière Rideau. Les pluies acides contribuent également à augmenter la teneur en métaux des nappes d'eau parce qu'elles accélèrent le lessivage des roches et des sols.

Amnicole commune, Amnicola limosus.
Amnicole commune, Amnicola limosus.
Sels dissous : indispensables aux bactéries
Les sels dissous, appelés ions, sont d'importantes composantes naturelles des eaux douces. Ils pénètrent dans l'eau sous l'effet de l'interaction entre les sols et les gaz contenus dans l'air et dans l'eau.

Les bactéries utilisent les sels dissous pour synthétiser les protéines qui, à leur tour, seront absorbées par les plantes et les animaux au cours de leur croissance. Cependant, si la quantité d'ions est trop élevée, les plantes et les animaux aquatiques risquent d'avoir de la difficulté à se développer dans le cours d'eau.

Aucun niveau n'a été établi dans les Recommandations pour la qualité des eaux au Canada en vue de la protection de la vie aquatique [11] en ce qui concerne la présence de sels dissous dans les plans d'eau douce parce que les concentrations acceptables varient considérablement en fonction des roches et des sols environnants.

Aucune anomalie n'a été constatée dans les échantillons prélevés dans la rivière Rideau au cours du Projet. Selon les analyses, les concentrations de sodium et de chlore résultant de l'épandage de sel sur les routes étaient peu élevées.

 

Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Puce. 
Puce. 
Flèche.  
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Lynn Gillespie, Ed Hendrycks, Andy Ormsby, Judy Redpath