nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Exotic Species

 

A Few Newcomers in the Rideau River

Flowering rush, Butomus umbellatus.
Flowering rush, Butomus umbellatus.
Aquatic Plants
Flowering rush
Flowering rush (Butomus umbellatus) is a tall shoreline plant with pink flowers. Native to Europe and Asia, it was first discovered in Canada along the St. Lawrence River in 1897. Flowering rush has since spread throughout northern U.S. and southern Canada.

This exotic species appears to be better adapted to flowing water than most native emergent species because it can grow in deeper and faster-moving water. This species is definitely spreading and is a problem along the length of the Rideau River shoreline because it crowds out native species. [3, 4, 5, 6]

European frogbit
European frogbit (Hydrocharis morsus-ranae) is an exotic floating plant plant that looks like a mini water lily. In 1932 this plant was introduced into a pond in the Arboretum of the Central Experimental Farm in Ottawa. The seeds came from Switzerland. The species grew without incident until 1939, when it was seen growing in nearby sections of the Rideau River.

European frogbit, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.
European frogbit,
Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.

By 1952 this plant had spread to the Ottawa River. By 1982 it had spread to the Great Lakes. Since its introduction in Ottawa, European frogbit has become one of the dominant plants in many eastern-Ontario wetlands, and has reduced native plant biodiversity.

Fortunately, the species is not common in the Rideau River because it is not well adapted to flowing water. This species is not a problem in the Rideau River. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Eurasian water milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum) in the Rideau Canal.
Eurasian water milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum) in the Rideau Canal, near downtown Ottawa.

Eurasian water milfoil
Eurasian water milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum) is an aquatic plant that was first introduced into Ontario and Quebec from Europe in the 1960s. This plant grows in dense mats, thereby choking the navigational channel and disrupting boat traffic and swimming.

Eurasian water milfoil is spread by aquatic birds and boat traffic (on propellers), which transport fragments of the plants to new areas. Fragments are able to root and grow.

In many eastern Ontario rivers, Eurasian water milfoil has displaced native aquatic plant species. Eurasian water milfoil has been found along the length of the Rideau River. Fortunately, this exotic does not seem to be harming other plants or animals along the Rideau River. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Purple loosestrife, Lythrum salicaria.
The flowers of
purple loosestrife
(Lythrum salicaria)
line the Rideau River.

Purple loosestrife
Purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria) is a tall shoreline plant with bright purple flowers. It is native to Europe and Asia and was introduced in ship ballast and in livestock feed and bedding in the early 1800s. Since then, garden centres that sell the plants and seeds as wildflowers have also spread it.

Purple loosestrife reduces native biodiversity because it crowds out native plants. In turn the native plant food source and nesting areas for waterfowl are eliminated. [3, 4, 5, 6]

previous page

 

 Newcomers
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Bullet.
 Exotic Species
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Ruben Boles

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les espèces exotiques

 

Quelques nouveaux venus dans la rivière Rideau

Butome à ombelle, Butomus umbellatus.
Butome à ombelle, Butomus umbellatus.
Plantes aquatiques
Butome à ombelle
Le butome à ombelle, Butomus umbellatus, est une grande plante de rivage aux fleurs roses. Originaire d'Europe et d'Asie, cette plante exotique a été vue pour la première fois au Canada le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent en 1897. Depuis lors, le butome à ombelle s'est dispersé dans tout le nord des États-Unis et le sud du Canada.

Cette espèce exotique semble s'être mieux adaptée à la vie en eau vive que la plupart des espèces émergentes indigènes, car elle peut croître dans des eaux plus profondes et plus rapides. Or, cette espèce se répand partout, et elle pose un problème le long des berges de la rivière Rideau, parce qu'elle déloge les espèces indigènes. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Hydrocharide grenouillette
L'hydrocharide grenouillette, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, est une plante flottante exotique qui ressemble à un minuscule lotus. C'est en 1932 que cette plante originaire de Suisse a été plantée dans un bassin de l'Arboretum, à la Ferme expérimentale centrale à Ottawa. L'hydrocharide grenouillette s'est développée sans incident jusqu'en 1939, date à laquelle on l'a retrouvée dans des parties avoisinantes de la rivière Rideau.

Hydrocharide grenouillette, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.
Hydrocharide grenouillette,
Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.

Dès 1952, cette plante s'est dispersée dans la rivière des Outaouais et dès 1982, dans les Grands Lacs. L'hydrocharide grenouillette est devenue une des plantes les plus répandues dans les terres humides de l'est de l'Ontario, réduisant ainsi la biodiversité des plantes indigènes dont elle prend la place.

Heureusement, comme elle ne s'adapte pas bien à l'eau vive, elle n'est pas aussi courante dans la rivière Rideau et n'y pose pas de problème. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Myriophylles à épi, Myriophyllum spicatum, dans le canal Rideau au centre-ville d'Ottawa.
Myriophylles à épi, Myriophyllum spicatum, dans le canal Rideau au centre-ville d'Ottawa.

Myriophylle à épi
Le myriophylle à épi, Myriophyllum spicatum, est une plante aquatique originaire d'Europe qui s'est implantée en Ontario et au Québec dans les années 1960. Cette espèce nuisible forme d'épais lits de plantes. Elle engorge les voies navigables, perturbant ainsi la navigation et la natation.

Le myriophylle est dispersé par les oiseaux aquatiques et les bateaux. Les hélices des embarcations à moteur s'entortillent autour des plantes et transportent les racines dans d'autres régions.

Dans de nombreuses rivières de l'est de l'Ontario, le myriophylle à épi a remplacé des espèces indigènes de plantes aquatiques. On retrouve le myriophylle à épi tout le long de la rivière Rideau, mais heureusement, cette espèce exotique ne semble pas avoir de répercussions sur d'autres plantes ou sur les animaux de la rivière. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Salicaires pourpres, Lythrum salicaria.
Les fleurs mauves des salicaires pourpres, Lythrum salicaria,
en bordure de la
rivière Rideau.

Salicaire pourpre
La salicaire pourpre, Lythrum salicaria, est une grande plante de rivage aux fleurs d'un mauve vif. Elle est originaire d'Europe et d'Asie, et a été introduite dans les ballasts des navires, les aliments et la literie du bétail au début des années 1800. Depuis, elle a également été dispersée par les centres de jardinage qui vendent les plantes et les semences sous forme de fleurs sauvages.

La salicaire pourpre réduit la biodiversité indigène, car elle élimine les plantes indigènes, ce qui a pour effet de supprimer la source d'alimentation végétale et les zones de nidification des oies et des canards. [3, 4, 5, 6]

page précédente

 

 Des nouveaux venus
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.  
Flèche.
Puce.
 Les espèces exotiques
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Ruben Boles