nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The Project History and Geography Health of the River Animals and PlantsWater Quality BiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers's Guide
 
Exotic Species

 

View of the Rideau River.
The Rideau River, near Billings Bridge.

A Few Newcomers in the Rideau River

Snails
Mud bithynia
The mud bithynia (Bithinia tentaculata) is a small snail that lives under rocks. Its shell is smooth and tapers to a slender point. The species was introduced from Europe into the Great Lakes in 1871 in the ballast water of ships and in the marsh grass that was used to pack crockery.

This exotic species was introduced into the Rideau River about a century ago and has since spread like wildfire through the rocky sections of rapids in the Rideau River, areas where the river bypasses the canal locks. At Burritts Rapids this species has displaced almost all species of native snails that live under rocks and stones.

A group of scientists and volunteers from both the Canadian Museum of Nature and the Eastern Ontario Biodiversity Museum measured a pile of empty shells they found in a cavity on the River bottom near Burritts Rapids. The pile was 3.8 m wide by 5.6 m long and 1.2 m deep - an estimated 120 million shells!

The mud bithynia population has stabilized, although it continues to dominate the snail fauna in rocky sections of the Rideau River. Before the zebra mussel arrived in the Rideau River, the mollusc fauna was already overwhelmingly dominated by an introduced exotic species. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Banded mysterysnail
The banded mysterysnail (Viviparus georgianus) has a large yellow to olive, spherical shell that is striped with dark reddish bands. The snails are native to the Mississippi River watershed in the U.S. They live in lakes and slow moving rivers, usually on muddy bottoms among vegetation.

This species is a popular aquarium species and its spread into the Great Lakes and Rideau River is the result of aquarium releases. These snails are common in Mooneys Bay, but are in the process of becoming supplanted by another exotic mollusc, the zebra mussel. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Chinese mysterysnail
Chinese mysterysnails (Cipangopaludina chinensis) are easily identified by their very large non-banded green shells. Native to Asia, this species has been dumped from aquariums into the Rideau River.

In some parts of Eastern Ontario, Chinese mysterysnails are extremely abundant and are known to clog the water intakes of power plants. In the Rideau River, Chinese mysterysnails are regularly seen in the Ottawa area. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Zebra mussels, Dreissena polymorpha.
Zebra mussels, Dreissena polymorpha.
Mussels and Clams
Zebra mussel
The greatest threat to native freshwater mussels in the Rideau River is from the invasion of the zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha).

European fingernailclam
The European fingernailclam (Sphaerium corneum) is a tiny burrowing mussel that is native to Europe and Asia. It was first discovered in the Great Lakes in 1962. It is not known how or when this species was transported from abroad or how it spread to the Rideau River. The effects of the European fingernailclam are not known. [3, 4, 5, 6]


previous page next page

 

 Newcomers
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Bullet.
Bullet.
Arrow.
 Exotic Species
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Ed Hendrycks, Diane Pathy

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les espèces exotiques

 

Vue de la rivière Rideau.
La rivière Rideau, près du pont Billings.

Quelques nouveaux venus dans la rivière Rideau

Escargots
Bulime
Le bulime, Bithynia tentaculata, est un petit escargot qui vit sous les rochers. Sa coquille est lisse et effilée. Le bulime a été introduit dans les Grands Lacs en 1871 dans l'eau de ballast des navires et dans le foin des marais utilisé pour emballer la vaisselle en provenance d'Europe.

Cette espèce exotique a été implantée dans la rivière Rideau il y a environ un siècle et depuis lors, s'est répandue petit à petit dans les parties rocailleuses des rapides de la rivière Rideau, là où la rivière contourne les écluses du canal. À Burritts Rapids, cette espèce a réussi à déloger presque tous les escargots indigènes qui vivent sous les rochers et les pierres.

Un groupe de scientifiques et de bénévoles du Musée de la biodiversité de l'Est de l'Ontario et du Musée canadien de la nature ont trouvé d'innombrables coquilles vides de bulimes entassées dans une cavité au fond de la rivière, à Burritts Rapids. Les coquilles étaient accumulées dans un espace mesurant 3,8 m de largeur par 5,6 m de longueur et 1,2 m de profondeur. Cela représentait environ 120 millions d'escargots!

La population de bulimes s'est stabilisée, bien qu'elle continue de dominer la faune d'escargots dans les parties rocailleuses de la rivière Rideau. Ainsi, bien avant l'apparition de la moule zébrée dans la rivière Rideau, la population de mollusques était déjà largement dominée par une espèce exotique. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Vivipare géorgienne
La vivipare géorgienne, Viviparus georgianus, est dotée d'une grande coquille sphérique jaune olive ornée de rayures rouge foncé. Cet escargot provient du bassin hydrographique du fleuve Mississippi, aux États-Unis. Il vit dans les lacs et les rivières à faible débit, surtout parmi la végétation, dans les fonds boueux.

Cette espèce est très populaire dans les aquariums et sa prolifération dans les Grands Lacs et la rivière Rideau est attribuable aux déversements d'aquariums. On la retrouve couramment à Mooneys Bay, où un autre mollusque exotique, la moule zébrée, est en train de la supplanter. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Vivipare orientale
La vivipare orientale, Cipangopaludina chinensis, est une espèce exotique originaire d'Asie facilement reconnaissable à sa très grande coquille verte non rayée. Cette espèce, provenant d'aquariums, a été relâchée dans la rivière Rideau par des propriétaires mal informés.

Dans certaines régions de l'est de l'Ontario, les vivipares orientales sont très nombreuses et elles peuvent boucher les tuyaux d'adduction des usines génératrices d'énergie. Dans la rivière Rideau, on voit régulièrement des vivipares orientales dans la région d'Ottawa. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha.
Moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha.
Moules et clams
Moule zébrée
L'invasion de la moule zébrée, Dreissena polymorpha, constitue une menace importante pour les moules d'eau douce de la rivière Rideau.

Sphaerie européenne
La sphaerie européenne, Sphaerium corneum, est une clam fouisseuse minuscule originaire d'Europe et d'Asie. Elle a été découverte dans les Grands Lacs en 1962. Personne ne sait comment ni quand la sphaerie européenne a été transportée d'Europe, et ni comment elle s'est dispersée dans la rivière Rideau. [3, 4, 5, 6]

page précédente page suivante

 

 Des nouveaux venus
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Puce.
Puce.
Flèche.
 Les espèces exotiques
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.


Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Ed Hendrycks, Diane Pathy