nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Exotic Species

 

A Few Newcomers in the Rideau River

Common carp, Cyprinus carpio.
Common carp, Cyprinus carpio.
Fish
Common carp
The common carp (Cyprinus carpio) is native to Europe and Asia, but it was introduced into Ontario from the United States in 1880. The species quickly spread throughout southern Ontario and has reached as far north as Sturgeon Bay, Ontario. The common carp has been found throughout the Rideau River since the 1930s.

This fish has been blamed for destroying the spawning areas of many aquatic insects, amphibians and fish. Common carp roots in the mud along shorelines, and in doing so it uproots aquatic plants. This activity also increases the turbidity. Other fish will avoid these areas as the suspended particles block their grills. If eggs have already been laid in these areas, the particles will cover them and interfere in their development. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Turtles
Red-eared slider
A red-eared slider (Trachemys scripta elegans) is easily recognized by its black shell with yellow stripes and the bright red patch just behind the eye. These turtles are native to the southern U.S. and are sold throughout North America as pets.


Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.

Red-eared sliders have expanded their distribution into the Rideau River because they have been dumped there by pet owners. This species successfully over-winters in the River, but is not likely to reproduce at this latitude since its natural range is in warmer waters further south.

The red-eared slider competes with native turtles for food and basking sites. It can also occupy areas that are favourable nesting sites for native turtles. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Crayfish
Rusty crayfish
The rusty crayfish (Orconectes rusticus) is native to Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee (in the U.S.), but it has been spread by anglers into northern, non-native waters through careless emptying of bait buckets and livewells.

Rusty crayfish were first captured in 1986 in the Jock River, which is a tributary to the Rideau River. Two years later, this species of crayfish was found in the Rideau River itself.

The rusty crayfish is an aggressive predator that dramatically reduces diversity of both aquatic plants and invertebrate populations, and defeats native crayfish species in competition for food and cover. Rusty crayfish have drastically reduced native crayfish populations in many areas of Ontario. [3, 4, 5, 6]

next page

 

 Newcomers
Bullet.
Bullet.
Bullet.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Exotic Species
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.

A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, Smithsonian Institution, NMNH, Division of Fishes

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les espèces exotiques

 

Quelques nouveaux venus dans la rivière Rideau

Carpe, Cyprinus carpio.
Carpe, Cyprinus carpio.
Poissons
Carpe
La carpe, Cyprinus carpio, poisson originaire d'Europe et d'Asie, a été introduite en Ontario en provenance des États-Unis en 1880. Ce poisson s'est rapidement dispersé dans tout le sud de l'Ontario et même loin au nord jusqu'à Sturgeon Bay (Ontario). La carpe se trouve dans la rivière Rideau depuis les années 1930.

Cette espèce est responsable de la destruction des lieux de reproduction de nombreux insectes aquatiques, d'amphibiens et de poissons, car elle déracine les plantes aquatiques le long des berges. En délogeant ces racines, la carpe libère et remue la boue des berges, et elle accroît la turbidité de l'eau. Les sédiments en suspension obstruent les branchies des animaux qui éviteront donc ce site. Si les oeufs sont déjà pondus, les sédiments les recouvriront et nuiront à leur développement. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Tortues
Tortue à oreilles rouges
La tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans, est facilement reconnaissable à sa coquille noire rayée de jaune et à la tache rouge vif qu'elle possède juste derrière l'oeil. Cette tortue originaire du sud des États-Unis est vendue comme animal domestique en Amérique du Nord.


Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.

On retrouve souvent des spécimens de cette espèce dans la rivière Rideau parce que leurs propriétaires les y ont rejetés. Cette tortue hiverne avec succès dans la rivière. Il est toutefois peu vraisemblable qu'elle puisse se reproduire à cette latitude, puisqu'on la retrouve habituellement plus au sud dans des eaux plus chaudes.

La tortue à oreilles rouges rivalise avec les tortues indigènes à la recherche de nourriture et d'aires de repos. Elle peut aussi occuper des sites qui seraient propices à la nidification des tortues indigènes. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Écrevisses
Écrevisse américaine
L'écrevisse américaine, Orconectes rusticus, est originaire de l'Ohio, du Kentucky et du Tennessee. Elle a été dispersée dans les eaux du Nord par les pêcheurs qui y ont déversé leurs seaux à appâts et leurs viviers.

Des écrevisses américaines ont été capturées pour la première fois dans la rivière Jock, affluent de la rivière Rideau, en 1986. Deux ans plus tard, on retrouvait l'espèce dans la rivière Rideau même.

L'écrevisse américaine est un prédateur très vorace qui réduit considérablement la diversité des plantes aquatiques et des populations d'invertébrés dont elle se nourrit, prenant ainsi nourriture et habitat aux écrevisses indigènes. La présence de l'écrevisse américaine a entraîné une diminution des populations indigènes d'écrevisses dans de nombreuses régions de l'Ontario. [3, 4, 5, 6]

page suivante

 

 Des nouveaux venus
Puce.
Puce.
Puce.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Les espèces exotiques
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.

Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Musée canadien de la nature, Smithsonian Institution, NMNH, Division of Fishes