nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Algae

 

More than 300 Species in the River!

Microscopic algae, Merismopedia elegans.

A cluster of Merismopedia elegans algae.

Alga diversity is an excellent indicator of water quality. When a river's water quality is good, the species of algae that live in it will be diverse.

During the Rideau River Biodiversity Project more than 300 species of algae were observed in the Rideau River. Most of these species belonged to the cryptophytes group, which are organisms that resemble diatoms and occasionally sport flagella. The presence of numerous species of cryptophytes, over and above the general diversity of the algae, is a sign that the water quality is basically good.

Algae were particularly diverse in the wetlands around Merrickville and Smiths Falls.

Algae are also able to tell us about the amount of fertilizer (phosphorus and nitrogen) in the water. In effect, the proliferation of certain species of algae indicates an abundance of fertilizers.

For example, during the Project, phosphorus levels and algal density were high within the City of Ottawa. Large floating mats of decaying algae were visible along the shorelines. This is a common site along many urban Ontario rivers.

Algal Masses: A Kind of Pollution?
Masses of algae near shore.

Masses of algae near shore, near Manotick.

Not really. Algae are a normal and essential part of a healthy river ecosystem. However, when there is too much phosphorus in the river, the algae proliferate excessively, and thereby place disproportionate pressure on the ecosystem.

After algae die they decompose while floating on the surface. Even large clusters do not harm plants or animals (humans included), but they return little benefit to the river and interfere with some recreation activities.

In extreme cases, the decomposition of the algae causes anoxia, which is an insufficiency of dissolved oxygen in the water. This phenomenon, which can be fatal to sensitive species (such as those species of fish that happen to be sportfish), occurs in only a few places in the River.

To eliminate the algal masses from the Rideau River, phosphorus levels must decrease. Discover how you can contribute to this reduction.


previous page

 

 Algae
Arrow.
Arrow.
Bullet.
Bullet.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


Two men in a boat.

Sampling algae in springtime.

A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Paul Hamilton, Jean Lauriault, Linda Ley

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les algues

 

Plus de 300 espèces dans la rivière!

Algues microscopiques, Merismopedia elegans.

Agglomération d'algues Merismopedia elegans.

La diversité des algues est un excellent indicateur de la qualité de l'eau. Lorsque la qualité de l'eau d'une rivière est bonne, les algues sont diversifiées.

Au cours du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau, les chercheurs ont identifié plus de 300 espèces d'algues dans la rivière, appartenant pour la plupart au groupe des cryptophytes, des organismes semblables aux diatomées et portant parfois des flagelles. La présence de ces nombreuses espèces de cryptophytes, ainsi que la diversité des algues, est un signe que la qualité de l'eau est généralement bonne.

Les algues sont particulièrement diversifiées dans les zones situées près des terres humides de Merrickville et de Smiths Falls.

Les algues peuvent aussi nous renseigner sur le volume de fertilisants, de phosphore et d'azote contenus dans l'eau. En effet, la prolifération de certaines espèces d'algues indique la présence de fertilisants en abondance.

Par exemple, au cours du Projet, on a relevé des teneurs en phosphore élevées au coeur d'Ottawa, et la densité de certaines algues y était également élevée. De grandes masses flottantes d'algues en décomposition étaient visibles le long du rivage. Ce phénomène est cependant commun dans les rivières urbaines de l'Ontario.

Les amas d'algues : une forme de pollution?
Amas d'algues près d'un barrage

Amas d'algues près d'un barrage à Manotick.

Pas vraiment. Les algues forment une partie normale et essentielle de l'écosystème d'une rivière en santé. Cependant, lorsqu'il y a trop de phosphore dans la rivière, les algues poussent de manière démesurée. De grandes masses d'algues mortes et en décomposition flottent à la surface.

Ces amas d'algues ne nuisent ni aux espèces sauvages ni aux humains, mais ils rendent la rivière peu attirante et perturbent les activités récréatives.

Dans les cas extrêmes, la décomposition des algues cause l'anoxie, une insuffisance d'oxygène dissous dans l'eau. Ce phénomène, qui peut être fatal à des espèces sensibles telles que les poissons de pêche sportive, ne survient toutefois que dans des endroits isolés de la rivière Rideau.

Pour éliminer les amas d'algues dans la rivière Rideau, les volumes de phosphore doivent diminuer. Découvrez comment vous pouvez contribuer à cette diminution.


page précédente

 

 Les algues
Flèche.
Flèche.
Puce.
Puce.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


Deux hommes dans un bateau.

Échantillonnage
des algues au printemps.

Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Paul Hamilton, Jean Lauriault, Linda Ley