nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Native Freshwater Mussels

 

Mussel Morsels

Bullet. Freshwater mussels (also called clams) live for a very long time. In some species individuals commonly reach 50 years of age while in others individuals often reach 100! No centenarians live in the Rideau River, but they are found in other rivers in Canada.
Eastern lampmussel, Lampsilis radiata.
Eastern lampmussel, Lampsilis radiata (centre).
Bullet. Native freshwater mussels reach sexual maturity at ages ranging from 6 to 10 years.
Bullet. Because native freshwater mussels are not mobile, finding a mate can be difficult. Male mussels release sperm into the water, whence female mussels filter it for fertilizing their eggs.
Floaters attached to the fin of a fish.
Floaters (species of Pyganodon) encysted in the dorsal fin of a fish.
Bullet. Females brood the eggs until the larval stage, wherein the young are called glochidia. The glochidia encyst in the fish's tissue, where they are nourished and protected until they can live independently.
Bullet. For completion of the reproductive cycle native mussels require the help of a fish host. For some mussel species, only one fish species is suitable. For example, the eastern elliptio uses fish in the sunfish family as a host, the pocketbook uses largemouth bass, and the floater uses carp or white suckers. Some species of mussels even have an appendage that acts as a lure for the fish host.
Pearls a Danger to Mussels!
Pearls.
Did you know that your pearl necklace contains tiny pieces of freshwater mussels? The pearl industry discovered that a piece of freshwater mussel shell is a better "irritant" than a grain of sand in encouraging an oyster to create a pearl. This new threat to the survival of North American mussels led the United States to prohibit the possession of freshwater mussels for any purpose. [13]

North America: Mussels in Decline

Although they are particularly abundant in North America, native freshwater mussels are nevertheless threatened by the introduction of zebra mussels and the deterioration of their habitat.

In 2000, 213 of the 297 species of freshwater mussels native to North America were considered endangered, threatened or of special concern. [14] None of the Rideau River's mussel species is in these categories; even if survival in this River in particular is threatened by the presence of zebra mussels, the species live in many other rivers besides.

previous page

 

 Native Mussels
Arrow.
Arrow.
Bullet.
Bullet.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


Bags of mussels.
Mussels to go - ready for identifying by researchers, not for eating!

A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Hemera, Jacqueline Madill, André Martel

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les moules d'eau douce indigènes

 

De curieuses centenaires

Puce. Les moules d'eau douce indigènes, ou mulettes, vivent très longtemps. Elles atteignent souvent 50 ans et certaines espèces vivent même jusqu'à 100 ans! Ces centenaires ne vivent pas dans la rivière Rideau, mais on en trouve dans d'autres cours d'eau du Canada.
Lampsile rayée, Lampsilis radiata.
Lampsile rayée, Lampsilis radiata.
Puce. Les mulettes n'atteignent leur maturité sexuelle qu'entre 6 et 10 ans.
Puce. Comme la plupart des mulettes ne se déplacent pas, il leur est parfois difficile de trouver un partenaire. Aussi le mâle libère-t-il du sperme dans l'eau, que la femelle filtrera afin de fertiliser ses oeufs.
Glocchidies attachées à la nageoire d'un poisson.
Glochidies d'Anodonte, Pyganodon species, enkystées dans la nageoire dorsale d'un poisson.
Puce. Après avoir couvé les oeufs jusqu'à ce qu'ils deviennent des larves, appelées glochidies, la femelle les relâche dans l'eau au passage d'un poisson d'une espèce bien définie. Les larves s'attachent aux nageoires ou s'introduisent dans le poisson par les branchies et s'y enkystent, trouvant ainsi nourriture et protection jusqu'à ce qu'elles puissent vivre de façon autonome.
Puce. Les différentes espèces de mulettes utilisent différentes espèces de poissons hôtes pour se reproduire. Seules quelques espèces de poissons conviennent, parfois même une seule! Par exemple, l'elliptio maigre de l'Est utilise les centrarchidés comme hôtes, la lampsile ventrue se développe dans l'achigan à grande bouche et l'anodonte utilise la carpe ou le meunier noir. Certaines espèces de mulettes se servent d'un appendice semblable à un leurre pour attirer les poissons hôtes.
Les perles menacent les moules!
Perles.
Saviez-vous que votre collier de perles renferme peut-être de minuscules morceaux de moules d'eau douce? En effet, l'industrie perlière a découvert qu'un morceau de coquille de mulette constitue un meilleur « irritant » qu'un grain de sable pour inciter les huîtres perlières à sécréter des perles. Cette nouvelle menace pour la survie des mulettes d'Amérique du Nord a amené certains États américains à interdire la possession de moules d'eau douce pour quelque utilisation que ce soit. [13]

Amérique du Nord : les moules en déclin

Très abondantes et diversifiées en Amérique du Nord, les moules d'eau douce indigènes sont toutefois menacées par l'introduction des moules zébrées et la détérioration de leur habitat.

Par exemple, en 2000, 213 des 297 espèces du continent étaient considérées comme en voie de disparition, menacées ou dans une situation préoccupante. [14] Aucune des espèces de la rivière Rideau n'avait cependant un tel statut. Même si la moule zébrée et les contraintes environnementales menacent leur survie dans la rivière, ces espèces se trouvent dans de nombreux autres cours d'eau.

page précédente

 

 Les moules indigènes
Flèche.
Flèche.
Puce.
Puce.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


Sacs remplis de moules.
Des moules prêtes à être... identifiées par les chercheurs, et non à être mangées!

Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Hemera, Jacqueline Madill, André Martel