nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Fish

 

Just Passing Through

Fish.

Archival records and technical reports have noted 59 fish species, from 21 families, found in the Rideau River and Canal during the last century. Although the Rideau River Biodiversity Project found almost half that number, the results do not suggest that the other half have disappeared from the Rideau River.

A considerable number of the 59 fish species found during the last century were not native, local residents, but were simply passing through. Some arrived via Rideau River tributaries, the Ottawa River or the St. Lawrence River. Also, attempts had been made to introduce various trout species to the Rideau River; the species did not survive because the River's water is too warm. Most of the "missing" species never really belonged in the River.

Eastern silvery minnow, Hybognathus regius.
Eastern silvery minnow, Hybognathus regius.
Gone but Not Forgotten
The disappearance of a species is always troubling. The eastern silvery minnow (Hybognathus regius) has not been found in the Rideau River since 1995, despite intensive sampling.

The loss of this species may be an early warning that physical disturbances such as habitat loss and increased turbidity are harming the fish populations of the Rideau River. Water level fluctuations may have caused additional stress to the eastern silvery minnow.


A Piranha?! In the Rideau?
Piranha.
A fish that resembled a pacu or a piranha (like this one) was found in the Rideau River in 1994.
Believe it! A fish that was either a piranha or a pacu was found, dead, in the shallows at Dows Lake in Ottawa, in October 1994. The South American species could not be identified with certainty, but the animal was 30 to 35 cm long! [18]

In June and August 1999, oscars were caught in the Rideau Canal in downtown Ottawa. The two exotic fish measured 20 to 25 cm long. The species originates in South America. [19]

The individuals of these exotic species are unlikely to survive the winter or to reproduce in the Rideau River. The impact these aggressive predators will have on native fish is unknown.

Piranhas and pacus are now established in 33 of the United States, thanks to pet owners who released exotic aquarium animals into different waterways. Considerable damage to native fish has resulted. [20]


previous page next page

 

 Fish
Arrow.
Bullet.
Bullet.
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


 Meet the Relatives!
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, Kathy Conlan, Corel

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les poissons

 

Des hôtes de passage

Poisson

Grâce à des archives et à des rapports techniques, on sait que 59 espèces de poissons appartenant à 21 familles ont été observées dans la rivière et le canal Rideau au cours du dernier siècle. On pourrait donc croire, à la lumière des résultats du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau, que près de 30 espèces ont disparu de la rivière en 100 ans.

Ce n'est pas exactement le cas, puisqu'un très grand nombre de ces poissons n'étaient en fait que des hôtes temporaires de la rivière, en provenance de tributaires, de la rivière des Outaouais ou du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Plusieurs de ces espèces étaient par ailleurs des truites qu'on avait tenté d'introduire dans un milieu inapproprié, où l'eau était trop chaude pour elles.

Méné d'argent, Hybognathus regius.
Méné d'argent,
Hybognathus regius.

Porté disparu
La disparition d'une espèce est cependant préoccupante. Le méné d'argent, Hybognathus regius, est introuvable dans la rivière Rideau depuis 1995 malgré d'intenses recherches.

Cette disparition peut être vue comme un avertissement que les contraintes physiques, telles la perte d'habitats et l'augmentation de la turbidité de l'eau, perturbent les populations de poissons de la rivière Rideau. La fluctuation du niveau d'eau est un autre facteur qui a pu affecter le méné d'argent.


Un piranha dans la rivière?!
Piranha
Un piranha semblable à celui-ci (ou son proche parent le pacu) a été trouvé dans la rivière Rideau en 1994.
Eh oui! Un poisson d'une espèce exotique a été trouvé, mort, sur les berges du lac Dow à Ottawa en octobre 1994. Il s'agissait d'un piranha ou d'un pacu (l'espèce n'a pu être identifiée avec certitude) de 30 à 35 cm de long! [18]

En juin et en août 1999, deux oscars, une autre espèce exotique, ont été capturés, cette fois dans la partie du canal Rideau située au centre-ville d'Ottawa. Ils mesuraient de 20 à 25 cm de long. [19]

Heureusement, il serait étonnant que ces espèces exotiques puissent survivre à nos hivers ou se reproduire dans la rivière Rideau. On ignore cependant les dommages que ces prédateurs peuvent causer aux poissons indigènes de la rivière.

Aux États-Unis, les pacus et les piranhas se sont établis dans 33 États après avoir été relâchés par des propriétaires d'aquarium. Ces espèces originaires d'Amérique du Sud ont causé des dommages considérables aux espèces de poissons indigènes.[20]


page précédente page suivante

 

 Les poissons
Flèche.
Puce.
Puce.
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


 Rencontrez la parenté!
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Kathy Conlan, Corel, Musée canadien de la nature