nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Birds

 

A Haven in Merrickville

The Rideau River Biodiversity Project has prompted the discovery, or perhaps re-discovery, of a few hidden gems. The Rideau Bird Sanctuary is one such, an 800-hectare haven located west of Merrickville, along the banks of the Rideau River.

Male Northern Shoveler, Anas clypeata.
Male Northern Shoveler, Anas clypeata.

The sanctuary is so well used because it is located next to some of the best wetlands along the Rideau River. The wetlands provide ample food of plants, seeds, insects, snails and native freshwater mussels.

American Black Duck, Anas rubripes.
American Black Duck, Anas rubripes.

Scientists from the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) counted thousands of geese and ducks, which represented 20 species. Ken Ross (of the CWS) estimates that this traffic is comparable to that found in some of the important staging areas in Ontario's Prince Edward County and around Wolfe Island in Lake Ontario.

Great Blue Heron, Ardea herodias.
Great Blue Heron, Ardea herodias.

By comparison, in one of the most important bird sanctuaries in North America, Long Point Bird Sanctuary (located on the Ontario shores of Lake Erie), 25 species of waterfowl are observed yearly. The sheer number of birds found at Long Point far exceeds, however, the numbers found along the Rideau River. [1]

A Special Activity during the Christmas Holidays
Would you like to help protect the flying wildlife of the Rideau River and its surroundings? Participate in the Ottawa Valley Christmas Bird Count. The Ottawa Field-Naturalists' Club organizes this event yearly and the data collected contribute to a national database used to monitor bird populations. To find out more, visit http://home.achilles.net/ofnc/index.html
The Queen's Swans
Mute Swan, Cygnus olor.
Mute Swan, Cygnus olor.
The Mute Swans (Cygnus olor) seen along the Rideau River in Ottawa are the descendants of six pairs of swans that were originally donated to the city by Queen Elizabeth II as part of its 1967 Canadian Centennial Celebrations. The swans can be seen from Hogs Back to the Rideau Falls from May through November. They are moved into a warm shelter for the winter.

previous page

 

 Aquatic Birds
Arrow.
Bullet.
Bullet.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
  
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, John A. Crosby, Hemera, Anne Phelps

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les oiseaux aquatiques

 

Un havre à Merrickville

Le Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau a permis de découvrir, ou pour certains, de redécouvrir, de vrais petits trésors. C'est le cas du Refuge d'oiseaux de Rideau, un havre sûr de 800 hectares situé tout juste à l'ouest de Merrickville, en bordure de la rivière Rideau.

Canard souchet mâle, Anas clypeata.
Canard souchet, Anas clypeata.

Ce refuge est très fréquenté parce qu'il est situé tout près de certaines des meilleures zones de terres humides de la rivière. Celles-ci regorgent de nourriture pour les oiseaux aquatiques :plantes, graines, insectes, escargots et moules d'eau douce indigènes.

Canard noir, Anas rubripes.
Canard noir, Anas rubripes.

Les scientifiques du Service canadien de la faune (SCF) y ont dénombré des milliers d'oies et de canards appartenant à quelque 20 espèces. Ken Ross, du SCF, estime que cet endroit est aussi achalandé que certaines haltes importantes situées dans le comté de Prince Edward (Ontario) et autour de l'île Wolfe sur le lac Ontario.

Grand Héron, Ardea herodias.
Grand Héron, Ardea herodias.

À titre comparatif, au refuge d'oiseaux de Long Point, sur les rives du lac Érié en Ontario, l'un des plus grands refuges d'oiseaux en Amérique du Nord, on peut observer annuellement 25 espèces d'oies et de canards. On y trouve toutefois, dans l'ensemble, beaucoup plus d'oiseaux qu'à la rivière Rideau. [1]

Une activité pour vous durant les Fêtes!
Vous voulez aider à préserver la faune ailée de la rivière Rideau et des environs? Participez au recensement des oiseaux de Noël de la vallée de l'Outaouais. Le Ottawa Field-Naturalists' Club organise cette activité chaque année. Les données recueillies contribuent à la réalisation d'une base de données nationale qui permet de surveiller les populations d'oiseaux. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site : http://home.achilles.net/ofnc/index.html.
Les cygnes de la reine
Cygne tuberculé, Cygnus olor.
Cygne tuberculé,
Cygnus olor
.
Les Cygnes tuberculés, Cygnus olor, qu'on peut observer à Ottawa, le long de la rivière Rideau, sont les descendants de six couples de cygnes que la Reine Élisabeth II a donné en 1967 à la municipalité au cours des célébrations du centenaire de la Confédération. On peut apercevoir les cygnes le long de la rivière, entre le poste d'éclusage de Hogs Back et les chutes Rideau, de mai à novembre. Ils passent l'hiver bien au chaud dans leur abri particulier.

page précédente

 

 Les oiseaux aquatiques
Flèche.
Puce.
Puce.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
  
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Hemera, Musée canadien de la nature, Anne Phelps