nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais  
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater Quality BiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
Water Quality

 

Bacteria: Acceptable Levels of E. coli

Fragrant white water lilies, Nymphaea odorata.
Fragrant white water lilies,
Nymphaea odorata.

Like phosphorus and nitrogen, bacteria are a normal part of a river's ecosystem. They further the decomposition of dead plants and animals and they convert minerals and nutrients into a form that can easily be used for growth by other plants and animals.

Certain bacteria, such as the fecal coliform Escherichia coli (E. coli), can be dangerous to humans and certain other animals. High concentrations of E. coli can cause illness in humans. The virulent E. coli strain 0157:H7, which can cause death, was not found in the Rideau River by researchers during the Project.

E. coli are washed into the water from nearby manure-fertilized agricultural fields and in stormwater runoff (in cities), or are introduced from improperly maintained septic tanks or by livestock with unhindered access to the water.

Cows in the Rideau River.
Swimming Allowed
Levels of the bacteria E. coli were low enough during most summer days of the Project to permit swimming in the River.

The lowest level recorded during the three years of the Project was about 10 colony-forming units (CFU) per 100 ml. Local regulations set 100 CFU/100 ml as the level at which swimming is not recommended. Federal regulations caution against swimming when the level reaches 200 CFU/100 ml.

Only one abnormally elevated level was recorded, in July 1998. The level was recorded near a water treatment plant, after a severe storm. On this occasion the E. coli level was 380 CFU/100 ml.

Dissolved Oxygen: Some Isolated Problems
Zebra mussels, Dreissena polymorpha.
Even the successful colonizers zebra mussels
(Dreissena polymorpha), seen here covering a submerged tree, survive with difficulty in zones where there is little dissolved oxygen.
Dissolved oxygen is a naturally occurring component of rivers and lakes and is essential for all aquatic organisms. These organisms in turn can influence oxygen levels in the water.

Aquatic plants and algae produce oxygen through photosynthesis. High levels of fertilizers in the water can cause an overabundance of these plants and algae. Their decomposition by bacteria depletes the oxygen in the water and can lead to dangerously low levels of dissolved oxygen for fish and other organisms.

In the Rideau River, oxygen levels in the water fall within the guidelines recommended in the Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for Freshwater Aquatic Life. [11] Nevertheless, scientists found a few pockets of deep water where poor water circulation and high bacterial activity resulted in low oxygen levels. Very few organisms can survive in these conditions, even that otherwise wildly successful invader, the zebra mussel.

 

Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Bullet. 
Bullet. 
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Lynn Gillespie, Paul Hamilton, André Martel

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Qualité de l'eau

 

Bactéries : des niveaux acceptables d'E. coli

Nymphées odorantes, Nymphaea odorata.
Nymphées odorantes,
Nymphaea odorata.

Comme le phosphore et l'azote, les bactéries font partie intégrante de l'écosystème d'une rivière. Elles contribuent à la décomposition des plantes et des animaux morts et transforment les minéraux et les nutriments en une forme assimilable, favorisant la croissance des plantes et animaux.

Certaines bactéries, comme les coliformes fécaux Escherichia coli (E. coli), peuvent cependant être dommageables pour les humains et pour certains autres animaux. Les concentrations élevées d'E. coli peuvent entraîner des maladies chez les êtres humains. La virulente souche E. coli 0157 : H7 peut même être la cause de décès, mais heureusement, les chercheurs n'en ont pas trouvé de trace dans la rivière Rideau au cours du Projet.

Les bactéries E. coli sont introduites dans la rivière à partir des champs agricoles fertilisés à l'aide de fumier et des eaux de ruissellement urbaines. Elles pénètrent aussi dans la rivière en raison de fosses septiques mal entretenues ou du bétail qui a libre accès au cours d'eau.

Vaches dans la rivière.
Baignade permise
Heureusement, dans la rivière Rideau, le niveau de E. coli mesuré au cours du Projet demeurait largement en deçà des limites permises pour la baignade.

En effet, le niveau moyen enregistré durant les trois années du Projet était d'environ 10 cellules souches unipotentes (CFU) par 100 ml. C'est largement inférieur aux recommandations locales pour la baignade, qui interdisent la baignade lorsque l'eau contient plus de 100 CFU/100 ml, et aux recommandations nationales qui fixent le seuil dangereux à 200 CFU/100 ml.

Une seule lecture anormalement élevée a été prise en juillet 1998, près de l'usine d'épuration des eaux de Smiths Falls, après un orage violent. À cette occasion, la concentration d'E. coli était de 380 CFU/100 ml.

Oxygène dissous : quelques problèmes isolés
Moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha.
Même les envahissantes moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha, qui recouvrent ici un arbre immergé, survivent difficilement dans les zones où l'oxygène dissous est rare.
Composante naturelle des cours d'eau et des lacs, l'oxygène dissous est essentiel à tous les organismes aquatiques. Ceux-ci, de leur côté, peuvent influer sur les taux d'oxygène dans l'eau.

Les plantes aquatiques et les algues produisent de l'oxygène par la photosynthèse. Une grande quantité de fertilisants dans l'eau peut cependant entraîner une surabondance de ces plantes et de ces algues. Leur décomposition par les bactéries réduit l'oxygène présent dans l'eau et peut faire baisser le taux d'oxygène dissous à un point qui devient dangereux pour les poissons et les autres organismes aquatiques.

Dans la rivière Rideau, la teneur en oxygène de l'eau correspond aux Recommandations pour la qualité des eaux au Canada en vue de la protection de la vie aquatique. [11] Les scientifiques du projet ont cependant découvert, en quelques points isolés, des poches profondes où la circulation était médiocre et où l'activité bactérienne élevée avait fait baisser le taux d'oxygène. Très peu d'organismes peuvent survivre dans ces conditions, y compris l'envahissante moule zébrée.

 

Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Puce. 
Puce. 
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Lynn Gillespie, Paul Hamilton, André Martel