nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Exotic Species
Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.

Aquarium Evictions
Occasionally, pet owners spread exotic species by dumping aquarium fish, turtles and plants into the River. In just one day, researchers have seen as many as seven red-eared sliders along the Rideau River. The more exotic species spread, the bigger a problem they become. If you no longer wish to keep your aquarium animals and plants, give them to a friend or bring them to a pet shop.

 

Intruders

Even though scientists are generally thrilled about finding new species, it can also cause them to worry. This is the case when they find that non-native organisms have been introduced into an ecosystem. These newcomers are called exotic species.

Flowering rush, Butomus umbellatus.
The flowering rush (Butomus umbellatus) is a large plant with pink flowers and is dominant along the shorelines of downtown Ottawa.

Results gathered from research conducted in Ontario show that 91% of these newcomers are unable to live or nest in their new environment. [2] Species that are able to do so often cause great damage to the ecosystem.

Some exotic species are described as "invasive". These species are able to thrive and spread, usually because food is abundant, and there are few (if any) predators, illnesses or parasites in the new habitat.

Several of these invasive species reproduce prolifically. For example, each mature purple loosestrife plant produces 2 million seeds every time it blossoms. Eurasian water milfoil is able to grow from seeds, and fragments of root and stem are able to take root and grow. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Strong Competition
Zebra mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) on a native mussel.
Zebra mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) clustered on a native mussel.

Exotic species are often able to supplant native species, thereby leaving the native species with fewer nesting sites and food resources. In downtown Ottawa for example, the flowering rush has multiplied along the shorelines of the Rideau River at the expense of native aquatic plants.

In addition, some exotics can harm a native species directly. Zebra mussels, for example, often fasten themselves in clusters on the shells of native mussels. The unfortunate animals are thus prevented from breathing, feeding and moving, and so they die.

Exotic species spread through several means. Some spread naturally with the current, as seen with fragments of Eurasian water milfoil or zebra mussel larvae. They can also be transported to other bodies of water in bait buckets or live wells, or attached to boat hulls and propellers.

Learn which exotic species were found in the Rideau River during the Rideau River Biodiversity Project and what you can do to help prevent their spread.

Questions about exotic species? Call the exotic species hotline of the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and the Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters: 1.800.563.7711.

 

 Exotic Species
Bullet.
Bullet.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.


 Newcomers  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


European frogbit, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.
A flower of European frogbit (Hydrocharis morsus-ranae), which is an exotic aquatic plant.

The Rideau River Gets Top Billing!
The video Rivers: Reflections of Life uncovers the wealth of plants and animals that live in rivers! Framed by the main stages of the Rideau River Biodiversity Project, the video illustrates how humans can live in harmony with the river, while protecting its biodiversity for future generations. The video was produced by the Canadian Museum of Nature, and you can order it online.


A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
  
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, Thomas Cook, Lynn Gillespie, Jean Lauriault

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
 
Les espèces exotiques
Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.

Jamais sans mon aquarium!
Il arrive que des poissons, des tortues et des plantes d'aquarium soient rejetés dans la rivière par leurs propriétaires, augmentant ainsi le nombre d'espèces exotiques présentes dans le cours d'eau. En une seule journée, des chercheurs ont vu jusqu'à sept tortues à oreilles rouges le long de la rivière Rideau! Plus ces espèces se répandent dans la rivière, plus elles posent des problèmes. Si vous ne voulez plus de vos animaux d'aquarium, tentez plutôt de les donner à un ami ou retournez-les à une animalerie.

 

Des visiteurs importuns

Même si les scientifiques se réjouissent généralement d'observer de nouvelles espèces dans la rivière, le contraire peut aussi être vrai. C'est le cas lorsque de nouveaux organismes non indigènes, appelés espèces exotiques, s'introduisent dans un écosystème.

Butome à ombelle, Butomus umbellatus.
Le butome à ombelle, Butomus umbellatus, une grande plante à fleurs roses, envahit les rives au centre-ville d'Ottawa.

Selon les résultats d'une recherche menée en Ontario, 91 % de ces nouveaux arrivants sont incapables de s'établir et de se reproduire dans leur nouveau milieu. [2] Toutefois, les espèces qui y parviennent ont souvent un effet dévastateur sur l'écosystème.

En effet, certaines espèces exotiques qu'on qualifie d'invasives peuvent se multiplier rapidement grâce à l'abondance des ressources alimentaires et à l'absence de prédateurs, de maladies et de parasites dans leur nouvel habitat.

Plusieurs de ces espèces envahissantes se reproduisent aussi facilement. Par exemple, chaque plant adulte de salicaire pourpre produit 2 millions de graines à chaque floraison. Le myriophille à épi se reproduit non seulement par semences, mais aussi par enracinement de petits bouts de tige ou de racine. [3, 4, 5, 6]

Une forte concurrence
Moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha, sur une moule indigène.
Des moules zébrées, Dreissena polymorpha, agglutinées sur une moule indigène.

Les espèces exotiques invasives supplantent souvent les espèces indigènes dont elles accaparent les sites de reproduction et les ressources alimentaires. Ainsi, au centre-ville d'Ottawa, le butome à ombelle se multiplie à vive allure le long de la rivière Rideau, au détriment des plantes aquatiques indigènes.

Les nouveaux arrivants peuvent aussi nuire directement aux espèces déjà en place. C'est le cas des moules zébrées qui, en se fixant aux moules d'eau douce indigènes de la rivière Rideau, les empêchent de respirer et de se nourrir, ce qui cause leur mort.

Une fois implantées dans un milieu, ces espèces exotiques se dispersent tout naturellement sous l'effet du courant, qu'il s'agisse de fragments de myriophille à épi ou de larves de moules zébrées. Les espèces exotiques peuvent aussi envahir d'autres cours d'eau en se fixant aux bateaux et à d'autres types d'embarcations récréatives, ou en étant transportées dans les seaux à appâts et les viviers des pêcheurs.

Venez voir quelles espèces exotiques ont été découvertes dans la rivière Rideau au cours du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau, et voyez ce que vous pouvez faire pour en empêcher la prolifération.

Vous voulez en savoir davantage sur les espèces exotiques? Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario et l'Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters disposent d'une ligne d'information sur les espèces exotiques, au 1.800.563.7711.

 

 Les espèces exotiques
Puce.
Puce.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.


 Des nouveaux venus  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Hydrocharide grenouillette, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae.
Fleur d'hydrocharide grenouillette, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, une plante aquatique exotique.

La rivière Rideau en vedette!
La vidéo Les rivières : Reflets de la vie vous fait découvrir une foule de plantes et d'animaux qui habitent les rivières. En relatant les grandes étapes du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau, elle illustre comment les humains peuvent vivre en harmonie avec la rivière, tout en protégeant sa biodiversité pour les générations à venir. Vous pouvez commander en ligne ce document unique produit par le Musée canadien de la nature.


Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Thomas Cook, Lynn Gillespie, Jean Lauriault, Musée canadien de la nature