nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Invertebrates

 

Flatworms

Flatworm of the genus Dugesia.
A flatworm of the genus Dugesia. Its pharynx is extended out its body to catch prey. Two eyes on the animal's head are visible in the upper left corner of the photo.

Class: Turbellaria - Turbellarians (Flatworms)
Order: Tricladida - Triclads
Family: Planariidae - Planarians

Characteristics of the family:
These worms are elongated and flattened, much like leeches. Flatworms are both predators and scavengers. The mouth is located on the bottom or underneath surface. Almost all species are hermaphroditic, which means they have both male and female sexual organs.

Interesting fact:
Flatworms can also reproduce by splitting in half (fission). The missing body parts regenerate. Because of this peculiarity, flatworms in this family are commonly studied in laboratories.


Representative genus: Dugesia sp.
Description Elongated, flattened and tapered at both ends with eye spots (these are true but crude eyes) on the head. Range of colouration is of gray, brown, black and patterns of spots, stripes or mottling. Single opening on ventral surface that acts as both mouth and anus.
Size 5 to 30 mm
Distribution Found mostly east of the Great Plains.
Habitat Flatworms in this class are photonegative (they avoid light) and are found under rocks and debris during the day. Unlike most flatworms, those in this class live in freshwater aquatic systems such as ponds, lakes, ditches, rivers and streams.
Food Flatworms are predators and scavengers. Their mouth is located ventrally (on their belly). The pharynx is extruded to swallow whole or bite a chunk of their prey, which includes snails, worms or soft insect larvae.
Life cycle Can reproduce asexually by fission, in which the animal splits in half and then regenerates the missing body parts. Sexual reproduction between a pair of hermaphroditic flatworms results in a few eggs being laid in a cocoon.

 

 Meet the Relatives!
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Bullet.
 Invertebrates
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Ed Hendrycks

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les invertébrés aquatiques

 

Les vers plats

Ver plat du genre Dugesia.
Ver plat du genre Dugesia. Le pharynx de l'animal est sorti pour attraper une proie. On remarque aussi les deux petits yeux sur la tête de l'animal, dans le coin supérieur gauche de la photo.

Classe : Turbellaria - Turbellariés (vers plats)
Sous-classe : Prosobranchia - Prosobranches
Ordre : Tricladida - Tricladides
Famille :
Planariidae - Planariidés (planaires)

Caractéristiques de la famille :
Presque toutes les espèces sont hermaphrodites et se reproduisent sexuellement. Allongés et plats, les vers plats sont parfois confondus avec les sangsues. Ce sont des prédateurs et des détritivores munis d'une cavité buccale ventrale.

Fait intéressant :
Les vers plats sont aussi fissipares, c'est-à-dire qu'ils peuvent se reproduire en se divisant en deux. Les espèces qui se reproduisent sexuellement ne vivent que quelques semaines ou quelques mois, tandis que les espèces fissipares peuvent vivre en laboratoire pendant des années.


Genre représentatif : Dugesia
Description Forme allongée et plate, conique aux extrémités; la tête comporte deux yeux. La couleur des vers varie entre le gris, le brun et le noir et ils portent des points, des rayures ou des taches. Une seule ouverture, ventrale, sert à la fois de bouche et d'anus.
Taille De 5 à 30 mm.
Aire de répartition On les trouve surtout à l'est des grandes plaines.
Habitat Les planaires fuient la lumière et, le jour, on les trouve sous les pierres et les débris. Ils vivent dans divers systèmes aquatiques comme des étangs, des lacs, des fossés, des rivières et des ruisseaux.
Alimentation Les vers plats sont des prédateurs et des détritivores. Ils ouvrent leur cavité ventrale et exposent leur pharynx pour avaler leur proie, entière ou en morceaux (escargots, vers, larves d'insectes molles, etc.).
Cycle de vie Capables de reproduction asexuée : le ver se divise en deux et chaque section regénère les parties du corps qu'il lui manque. La reproduction sexuée entre deux vers plats hermaphrodites se fait par la ponte d'oeufs individuels ou réunis en cocons.

 

 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Puce. 
 Les invertébrés  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
 Consultez  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Ed Hendrycks