nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Invertebrates

 

Photo Gallery

The head of a dragonfly nymph of the genus Erythemis. Hydra. Beetle larva of the genus Haliplus.
A dragonfly nymph of the genus Erythemis. All dragonfly and damselfly nymphs have a specialized "lip" that unfolds to reach out and capture prey.
This hydra belongs to a group called the Cnidaria, which also include jellyfish, corals, attached anemones and other polyps. Just like jellyfish, hydras have a specialized cell on the tentacles that contains a stinger that is fired on prey to sting or entwine them. The prey is then pulled in by the tentacles to the mouth.
Can you guess what this is? This is a larva of a beetle of the genus Haliplus. Both adults and larvae are herbivorous. The larvae are sluggish crawlers whereas the adults are good swimmers.
Damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma catching a beetle. A leech (Helobdella stagnalis) eating a snail. Moth caterpillar of the genus Synclita.
This damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma has caught a beetle for lunch. Damselflies and dragonflies feed on insects, molluscs, crustaceans, aquatic earthworms, and even small vertebrates. The larvae breathe through three external gills at the hind end of the body.
This leech (Helobdella stagnalis) has inserted its head into a snail's shell in order to feed on it. This leech also feeds on aquatic insects and worms. Other leeches are strictly parasitic on fish or crustaceans. Leeches can be found in warm shallow waters that are protected from currents.
Of all lepidopterans, only one family of moths (Pyralidae) has truly aquatic larvae. Aquatic caterpillars, like this one belonging to the genus Synclita, are herbivorous and pupate under water in silken cocoons.
Neoplea striola eating a hydra. The head of a damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma. Caddisfly larva of the genus Oecetis in its case, side view.
Neoplea striola has specialized needle-like mouthparts for piercing and sucking out the liquids inside their prey, in this case a hydra. Hemipterans (the order of sucking insects) are predators that feed on insects and crustaceans. Larger Hemipterans can also feed on frogs and fish.
Odonates (dragonflies and damselflies), like this damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma, are predators with eyes that are well developed for hunting. Some nymphs burrow in the sediment and ambush while others actively stalk their prey on submerged plants.
Caddisfly larvae, like this one belonging to the genus Oecetis, build cases by using silk to cement found materials together. They use these cases to aid respiration, as ballast to sink, as camouflage and as a pupal case.
  Caddisfly larva of the genus Oecetis in its case, front view.  
 
A front view of a caddisfly larva of the genus Oecetis in its case. The head and eyes of are visible here. This caddisfly is a swimming predator.
 

 

 Invertebrates  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
 Don't Overlook...  
Bullet. 
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  

Click on each photo to see it in a larger size.

 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Chris Allaway, Ed Hendrycks

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les invertébrés aquatiques

 

L'album de photos

Tête d'une nymphe de libellule du genre Erythemis. Hydre. Larve de coléoptère du genre Haliplus.
Nymphe de libellule du genre Erythemis. Toutes les nymphes de libellules et de demoiselles sont dotées d'une lèvre inférieure modifiée qui s'étend pour la capture des proies.
Cette hydre appartient à la famille des Cnidaires, laquelle comprend également les méduses, les coraux, les anémones de mer et autres polypes. Les tentacules de l'hydre sont dotées de cellules particulières qui peuvent décharger un aiguillon afin de paralyser une proie en l'enlaçant ou en la piquant. L'hydre utilise alors ses tentacules pour apporter la proie à sa bouche.
Devinez de quoi il s'agit? D'une larve de coléoptère du genre Haliplus. L'adulte et la larve sont tous deux herbivores. La larve est très peu mobile tandis que l'adulte est un bon nageur.
Nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma capturant un coléoptère. Sangsue, Helobdella stagnalis, dévorant un escargot. Chenille de papillon nocturne appartenant au genre Synclita.
Cette nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma a capturé un coléoptère pour son repas. Les libellules et les demoiselles se nourrissent d'insectes, de mollusques, de crustacés, d'oligochètes et même de petits vertébrés. Les nymphes de demoiselles respirent grâce à trois branchies externes situées au bout de leur corps.
Cette sangsue, Helobdella stagnalis, a entré sa tête dans la coquille de l'escargot pour le dévorer. Elle se nourrit aussi d'insectes aquatiques et de vers. D'autres sangsues sont strictement des parasites qui vivent sur les poissons ou les crustacés. On trouve les sangsues dans des eaux tièdes peu profondes et à l'abri des courants.
De tous les lépidoptères, une seule famille de papillons (la pyrale) produit des larves aquatiques. Les chenilles aquatiques, comme cette espèce appartenant au genre Synclita, sont herbivores et se métamorphosent en pupe sous l'eau, dans un cocon de soie.
Neoplea striola dévorant une hydre. Tête d'une nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma. Larve de phrygane du genre Oecetis dans son abri, vue de côté.
La Neoplea striola est dotée d'organes bucaux qui ressemblent à des aiguilles et qui lui permettent de percer et de sucer les liquides contenus dans sa proie. Dans le cas présent, il s'agit d'une hydre. Les hémiptères (ordre d'insectes suceurs) sont des prédateurs qui se nourrissent d'insectes et de crustacés. Les plus gros peuvent également manger des grenouilles et des poissons.
Les libellules et les demoiselles, comme cette nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma, sont des prédateurs dont la vision est très développée pour chasser. Dans la rivière, certaines nymphes s'enfouissent dans les sédiments pour tendre une embuscade à leurs proies tandis que d'autres les traquent activement parmi les plantes submergées.
La larve de phrygane, ici une larve du genre Oecetis, construit un genre d'enveloppe ou d'abri en utilisant de la soie pour faire tenir les matériaux ensemble. Ces abris facilitent la respiration, agissent comme ballast pour la plongée, aident au camouflage et servent également de coque au moment où la larve se transforme en pupe.
  Larve de phrygane du genre Oecetis dans son abri, vue de face.  
 
Larve de phrygane du genre Oecetis vue de face dans son abri. On distingue la tête et les yeux de la larve. Celle-ci est un prédateur-nageur.
 

 

 Les invertébrés  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
 Consultez  
Puce. 
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  

Cliquez sur les photographies pour voir une image détaillée.

 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Chris Allaway, Ed Hendrycks