nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Invertebrates

 

From Egg to Insect

The series of transformations from egg to adult undergone by an insect is called metamorphosis. This process is called "complete" when certain major changes take place during the course of development. It is called "incomplete" when there is little difference between the young insect and the adult.

Synclita sp.
This aquatic caterpillar (of the genus Synclita) will one day become a moth.
Complete Metamorphosis
Stages: egg, larva, pupa or chrysalis, adult
In insects that undergo a complete metamorphosis, the larva and the adult are usually so different that it can be difficult to tell that they belong to the same species. The larvae are called different names, according to their insect group: larva of a butterfly is called a caterpillar, that of the fly is called a maggot, and that of a beetle is called a white grub.

Development consists of a series of moults, an increase in size and, sometimes, changes in colour. The final moult produces a pupa (also called a chrysalis) that is usually dormant and does not feed. The adult insect will emerge from this stage.

Among the insects that undergo a complete metamorphosis are moths, caddisflies, beetles, flies, gnats and mosquitoes.

It may take them as little as a few hours or as much as several years, depending on species, habitat, temperature, etcetera.

Dragonfly.
Dragonfly.
Incomplete Metamorphosis
Stages: egg, nymph, adult
In insects that experience incomplete metamorphosis, an animal in the larval stage is called a nymph and differs from the adult mainly in size and the proportions of the body. The metamorphosis of the true bug is an example of this type of development.

The mayfly, dragonfly and damselfly are exceptional in this category: the nymphs resemble the adults, but there are also some differences. Among other reasons, these differences are related to the fact that the nymph lives in water while the adult lives out of water.

Several nymphs of different insect species were observed in the Rideau River during the course of the Rideau River Biodiversity Project.


previous page

 

 Invertebrates  
Arrow.  
Bullet. 
 Don't Overlook...  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


Damselfly nymph of the genus Enallagma.

Insects Rule!
Did you know that insects are the most successful animals that have ever existed on Earth? They are found almost everywhere, including, of course, the Rideau River. Dragonflies, damselflies and mayflies are among the many aquatic insects that live in water only as juveniles. This damselfly nymph (of the genus Enallagma) is an example.

 

A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Chris Allaway, Ed Hendrycks, Valerie J. May

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les invertébrés aquatiques

 

De l'oeuf à l'insecte

Chez les insectes, l'oeuf se transforme en adulte en subissant une série de transformations successives qu'on appelle la métamorphose. Cette métamorphose est dite complète lorsque des changements importants surviennent au cours du développement. Elle est dite incomplète lorsqu'il y a peu de différence entre le jeune insecte et l'adulte.

Synclita sp.
Cette chenille aquatique du genre Synclita deviendra un jour un papillon nocture.
Métamorphose complète
Stades : oeuf, larve, pupe ou chrysalide, adulte
Chez les insectes à métamorphose complète, la larve et l'adulte sont généralement si différents qu'il est parfois difficile de les apparenter. La larve porte différents noms selon le groupe d'insectes. La larve du papillon est appelée chenille, celle de la mouche, asticot, et celle du coléoptère, ver blanc.

Le développement consiste en une série de mues, en une augmentation de taille et parfois même en des modifications de la couleur. La dernière mue donne une pupe ou chrysalide qui est généralement inactive et ne se nourrit pas. De la pupe ou chrysalide émergera l'insecte adulte.

Par exemple, les papillons nocturnes, les phryganes, les coléoptères ainsi que les mouches, les moucherons et les moustiques sont des insectes à métamorphose complète.

La métamorphose de ces insectes peut s'accomplir en quelques heures ou, au contraire, s'échelonner sur quelques années, selon l'espèce, l'habitat, la température, etc.

Libellule.
Libellule.
Métamorphose incomplète
Stades : oeuf, nymphe, adulte
Chez les insectes qui subissent une métamorphose incomplète, la larve, appelée nymphe, ressemble à l'adulte dont elle diffère principalement par la taille et les proportions du corps. Un exemple de ce développement est la métamorphose de la punaise.

Bien qu'elles soient classées parmi les insectes à métamorphose incomplète, les éphémères, les libellules et les demoiselles font figure d'exception dans ce groupe. La nymphe et l'adulte de ces insectes présentent des ressemblances, certes, mais aussi plusieurs différences liées entre autres au fait que la nymphe vit dans l'eau tandis que l'adulte vit hors de l'eau.

Plusieurs nymphes de différentes espèces d'insectes ont été observées dans la rivière Rideau au cours du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau.



page précédente

 

 Les invertébrés
Flèche.
Puce.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Nymphe de demoiselle du genre Enallagma.

Insectomanie!
Saviez-vous que les insectes sont les animaux les mieux adaptés ayant jamais existé sur terre? On les trouve presque partout... et notamment dans la rivière Rideau! De nombreux insectes aquatiques, comme les libellules et les éphémères, vivent dans l'eau seulement lorsqu'ils sont jeunes, telle cette nymphe de demoiselle appartenant au genre Enallagma.

 

Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Chris Allaway, Ed Hendrycks, Valerie J. May