nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Invertebrates

A beetle of the genus Peltodytes.
An aquatic beetle of the genus Peltodytes.

Another View of Plants

 

Essential Animals

Water mite.
Water mite.

Freshwater invertebrates are an incredibly diverse, although generally inconspicuous, group of animals. Despite their low profile, they play such an essential role in the aquatic ecosystem that the River as we know it would not exist without them.

Leptocerus americanus.
This Leptocerus americanus protrudes from its case to feed.

For example, aquatic insects are important because they recycle nutrients (they eat dead and decaying plant and animal matter and bacteria like E. coli) and they are a primary source of food for other animals and certain plants.

Not Only Insects
In the Rideau River, many of the aquatic invertebrates are the larval stages of insects, such as caddisflies, mayflies, dragonflies, mosquitoes and chironomids. However, there are many other invertebrates, including crayfish, worms, mussels, snails, and leeches. Some of the less visible and perhaps more unfamiliar invertebrates include many of the crustaceans (amphipods, copepods and ostracods), flatworms and water mites.

Aquatic snail of the Physidae family.
Aquatic snail of the Physidae family.

Aquatic invertebrates occupy many different feeding niches, from deposit feeders and filter feeders to herbivores and predators, which feed on other invertebrates or even small vertebrates like tadpoles, frogs and small fish.



150 Species in the River!
During 1999, the Rideau River Biodiversity Project scientists and volunteers identified more than 150 species of invertebrates living among submerged aquatic plants in the Rideau River. Many were photographed live under a microscope. These photographs are an invaluable resource.

Crayfish.
Crayfish.
During the summer of 2000, the invertebrates that live on the river bottom were sampled by taking sediment cores. The identification of hundreds more species is expected to result from the analysis of these cores.

next page

 

 Invertebrates  
Bullet. 
Arrow.  
 Don't Overlook...  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


Neoplea striola feeding on a hydra.
Visit our photo gallery to see more gripping scenes like this one of Neoplea striola devouring a hydra.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
  
 Images: Christopher Allaway, Ed Hendrycks, André Martel

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
 
Les invertébrés aquatiques
Un coléoptère du genre Peltodytes.
Un coléoptère aquatique du genre Peltodytes.

Voir les plantes d'un autre oeil

 

Des mal-aimés pourtant essentiels

Mite d'eau.
Mite d'eau.

Les invertébrés d'eau douce forment un groupe d'animaux extrêmement variés, mais souvent peu visibles. Toutefois, bien qu'on les remarque peu, ils jouent un rôle essentiel dans les écosystèmes aquatiques. Sans eux, la rivière telle que nous la connaissons n'existerait pas.

Leptocerus americanus.
Ce Leptocerus americanus sort de son cocon pour se nourrir.

Par exemple, les insectes aquatiques recyclent des nutriments dans la rivière. Ils consomment des bactéries comme les E. coli, ainsi que des matières mortes et en décomposition, puis ils sont à leur tour une source d'alimentation pour d'autres animaux et pour certaines plantes.


Pas seulement des insectes
Nombre d'invertébrés aquatiques qui vivent dans la rivière Rideau sont des insectes au stade larvaire, comme les phryganes, les éphémères, les libellules, les moustiques et les chironomes. On y trouve également beaucoup d'autres invertébrés comme les écrevisses, les vers, les moules, les escargots et les sangsues.

Parmi les invertébrés les moins visibles, et peut-être les moins connus de la rivière, figurent plusieurs crustacés, notamment les amphipodes, les arthropodes et les ostracodes, de même que les vers plats et les mites d'eau.


Escargot aquatique de la famille des Physidés.
Escargot aquatique de la famille des Physidés.

Les invertébrés aquatiques ont des habitudes alimentaires très variées, depuis les détritivores et les filtreurs jusqu'aux herbivores et aux prédateurs. Ces derniers se nourrissent d'autres invertébrés ou même de petits vertébrés, comme les têtards, les grenouilles et les petits poissons.



150 espèces dans la rivière!
En 1999, les scientifiques et les bénévoles du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau ont recensé plus de 150 espèces d'invertébrés vivant parmi les plantes aquatiques immergées de la rivière. Un grand nombre d'entre eux ont été photographiés vivants à l'aide d'un microscope, constituant ainsi une source de photographies de valeur inestimable.

Écrevisse.
Écrevisse.
Pendant l'été 2000, on a prélevé des échantillons de sédiments au fond de la rivière afin d'identifier les invertébrés qui y vivent. Ces résultats n'ont pas encore été analysés, mais on prévoit qu'ils permettront d'identifier des centaines d'autres espèces.

page suivante

 

 Les invertébrés  
Puce. 
Flèche.  
 Consultez  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  



 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Neoplea striola dévorant une hydre.
Notre album de photos contient des scènes saisissantes comme ce Neoplea striola dévorant une hydre.
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Christopher Allaway, Ed Hendrycks, André Martel