nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Reptiles
A smooth green snake, Opheodrys vernalis, hatching from its egg.
A smooth green snake, Opheodrys vernalis, hatching from its egg.

Plenty of Progeny
Turtles breed in May and June. Turtles and some snakes, such as the milk snake, the ringneck snake and the green snake, dig nests in which they lay their eggs. These animals are therefore oviparous. Others, such as the common garter snake, the redbelly snake and the northern water snake, are ovoviviparous, which means the eggs hatch inside the mother's body, who then gives birth to live young, 20 to 40 at a time! Reptiles do not care for their offspring once they have laid the eggs or have given birth.

 

Turtles Are Healthy ... in Rural Areas

Painted turtle, Chrysemys picta.
Painted turtle,
Chrysemys picta
.

Eleven species of native reptiles (comprising six species of snakes and five species of turtles) were found along the Rideau River during both the Project and previous fieldwork by Mike Rankin and Francis Cook, research associates with the Canadian Museum of Nature.

Researchers were particularly pleased to find two new localities for musk turtles, which are one of the rarest turtles in the River. Our knowledge of the distribution of this species has expanded with musk turtles newly found at Burritts Rapids and Barnes Island!

Northern water snake, Nerodia sipedon.  
Northern water snake,
Nerodia sipedon.
 
 

In general, reptile populations appear healthy in those portions of the Rideau River that pass through rural areas. On the other hand, Rankin and Cook are worried about the possible decline of turtle populations in urban areas, particularly near Manotick and downtown Ottawa.

Basking and nesting sites are becoming more and more scarce because of the construction of artificial riverbanks, which often accompanies residential development.


Common garter snake, Thamnophis sirtalis.
Common garter snake, Thamnophis sirtalis.
next page
 

 

 Reptiles
Bullet.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


 Meet the Relatives!
Arrow.
Arrow.


Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Red-eared slider, Trachemys scripta elegans.

Tankfuls of Exotic Turtles
Regrettably, red-eared sliders occasionally are found in the Rideau River. They are an exotic species, inappropriately released by misguided pet owners. Sliders are probably able to survive the winter in the Rideau River, but they are unlikely to reproduce in this area. The natural range of the species is further south, in areas with much longer summers. In the Rideau River area, hatching may not be possible before winter freeze-up.

 

A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
  
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
 
Les reptiles
Couleuvre verte, Opheodrys vernalis, sortant de son oeuf.
Couleuvre verte, Opheodrys vernalis, sortant de son oeuf.

Des petits par dizaines
Les tortues se reproduisent en mai et en juin. Les tortues et certaines espèces de serpents telles que la couleuvre tachetée, la couleuvre à collier et la couleuvre verte creusent un nid et y déposent leurs oeufs. Elles sont ovipares. D'autres, par contre, comme la couleuvre rayée, la couleuvre à ventre rouge et la couleuvre d'eau, sont ovovivipares, c'est-à-dire que les oeufs éclosent dans le corps de la femelle qui donne ensuite naissance à des petits. Il peut y en avoir entre 20 et 40 à la fois! Les reptiles ne s'occupent pas de leurs petits une fois qu'ils leur ont donné naissance ou que les oeufs ont été pondus.

 

Les tortues se portent bien... dans la zone rurale

Tortue peinte, Chrysemys picta.
Tortue peinte,
Chrysemys picta
.
 

Onze espèces de reptiles indigènes, dont six espèces de couleuvres et cinq de tortues, ont été trouvées dans la rivière Rideau durant le Projet et au cours des recherches antérieures de Mike Rankin et de Francis Cook, chercheurs associés du Musée canadien de la nature.

Les chercheurs ont notamment eu le plaisir d'observer des tortues musquées, l'une des espèces les plus rares de la rivière Rideau, dans deux nouveaux endroits. Nous en connaissons davantage sur l'aire de répartition de cette espèce depuis qu'ils ont trouvé des spécimens à Burritts Rapids et à l'île Barnes!

Couleuvre d'eau, Nerodia sipedon.  
Couleuvre d'eau,
Nerodia sipedon.
 
 

En général, les populations de reptiles se portent bien dans la portion de la rivière Rideau située en zone rurale. Par contre, les deux chercheurs du Musée s'inquiètent du possible déclin des populations de tortues dans les zones urbaines, notamment dans les secteurs de Manotick et du centre-ville d'Ottawa.

Les sites de nidification et les aires de repos s'y font de plus en plus rares, en raison de l'aménagement artificiel des berges qui accompagne souvent le développement résidentiel.


Couleuvre rayée, Thamnophis sirtalis.
Couleuvre rayée, Thamnophis sirtalis.
page suivante
 

 

 Les reptiles  
Puce. 
Flèche.  
 Consultez  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.
Tortue à oreilles rouges, Trachemys scripta elegans.

Tortues exotiques : dans un aquarium
Malheureusement, on voit parfois des tortues à oreilles rouges, une espèce exotique, dans la rivière Rideau. Ces animaux d'aquarium y ont été rejetés par des propriétaires mal renseignés.

 

Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Musée canadien de la nature