nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Amphibians

 

Populations to Watch

Yellow-spotted salamander, Ambystoma maculatum.
Yellow-spotted salamander,
Ambystoma maculatum.

Amphibians of the Rideau River have fascinated Francis Cook and Mike Rankin for more than 50 years. Over the course of their work (they are both research associates with the Canadian Museum of Nature) and particularly during the Rideau River Biodiversity Project, they have observed some 15 species.

If you have heard the call of the bullfrog along the Rideau River, it might come as no surprise to learn that this is among the River's most abundant amphibian species, along with the green frog, leopard frog and the American toad.

Also found along the River are salamanders such as the blue-spotted salamander, the yellow-spotted salamander and the mudpuppy. In very early spring, it is sometimes possible to see mudpuppies just under the ice near the shoreline.

A Good Indication
The size of frog populations can be an indicator of the health of the Rideau River because frogs are sensitive to changes in their habitat and to decreases in the quality of the water. [22]

Shoreline development decreases egg-laying sites and nursery habitat for tadpoles. Drastic seasonal fluctuation of water levels affects shallow shoreline feeding for tadpoles and may affect potential hibernation sites.

Comparison of information collected during the Project with reports from local residents and studies conducted during the preceding 50 years indicates that overall population levels for bullfrogs and green frogs have dropped.

Northern leopard frog, Lithobates pipiens.
Northern leopard frog,
Lithobates pipiens.

Northern leopard frogs are now not often seen in the urban areas of Ottawa because their open pasture summer feeding habitat is reduced. Happily, they are still frequently sighted in rural areas where meadows and pastures are adjacent to the River.

Pickerel frogs were present in Dows Great Swamp off the Rideau Canal in the early 1900s. They have since disappeared because the forest was cut and the swamp was drained, and so their habitat was lost.

The use of frogs as fish bait and the collection of bullfrogs for human food (frogs' legs) has further reduced population numbers. [22] Bullfrogs are protected in eastern Ontario and cannot be taken. The number of northern leopard frogs allowed for use as bait is also restricted.


For Good Quality Water, Follow the Frogs!
Green frog, Lithobates clamitans.
Green frog,
Lithobates clamitans.
Frogs can be indicators of the quality of the water. A high incidence of deformities, such as missing eyes or toes, usually occurs in areas with chemical pollutants or parasite infestations.

Happily, in the Rideau River, the few deformed frogs that have been noticed through the years are not in any greater number than what is normally expected in natural populations. The relative absence of deformities among frogs in the Rideau River is a positive environmental indicator, showing that the water of the Rideau River is in good health.

Help Frogs and Toads
Each spring, participate in frog and toad counts. Frogwatch Ontario and the North American Amphibian Monitoring Program offer opportunities for families and schools to get involved and monitor neighbourhood frog populations.

For more information:

Frogwatch Ontario
http://www.naturewatch.ca/english/frogwatch/on


North American Amphibian Monitoring Program
http://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/naamp

 

 Amphibians  
Bullet.  
Bullet.  
 Don't Overlook...  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  



 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  


Bullfrog, Lithobates catesbeiana.
Bullfrog,
Lithobates catesbeiana.
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, Thomas Cook

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
Les amphibiens

 

Des populations à surveiller

Salamandre maculée, Ambystoma maculatum.
Salamandre maculée,
Ambystoma maculatum.

Les amphibiens de la rivière Rideau captivent Francis Cook et Mike Rankin, chercheurs associés du Musée canadien de la nature, depuis plus de 50 ans. Au cours de leurs travaux, et notamment durant le Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau, les chercheurs en ont observé quelque 15 espèces.

Si vous avez déjà entendu le chant du ouaouaron le long de la rivière Rideau, vous ne serez pas surpris d'apprendre que cette espèce d'amphibiens est l'une des plus abondantes de la rivière, tout comme la grenouille verte et le crapaud d'Amérique.

On trouve aussi dans la rivière des salamandres comme la salamandre à points bleus, la salamandre maculée et le necture tacheté. On peut notamment observer les nectures sous la glace près des rives, au printemps.

De bons indicateurs
La taille des populations de grenouilles peut être un bon indicateur de l'état de santé de la rivière Rideau, car les grenouilles sont très sensibles aux perturbations de leur habitat et à la diminution de la qualité de l'eau. [22]

L'aménagement des rives détruit les sites de nidification et les aires de croissance des têtards. En outre, la fluctuation radicale du niveau de l'eau, chaque saison, affecte les sources d'alimentation du têtard situées dans les eaux peu profondes, près des rives, de même que les sites potentiels d'hibernation.

Si on compare les renseignements qui ont été recueillis durant le Projet aux études menées au cours des 50 dernières années ainsi qu'aux observations des résidents locaux, il semble que la taille des populations globales de ouaouarons et de grenouilles vertes sont moins élevée qu'auparavant dans la rivière Rideau.

Grenouille léopard, Lithobates pipiens.
Grenouille léopard,
Lithobates pipiens.

Les grenouilles léopards sont maintenant rares dans la région urbaine d'Ottawa parce que les aires d'alimentation d'été y sont réduites. Heureusement, elles sont encore abondantes dans les zones rurales, où l'on trouve des prés et des pâturages adjacents à la rivière.

Quant aux grenouilles des marais, qu'on pouvait observer dans le marais Dow près du canal Rideau au début du XXe siècle, elles ont maintenant disparu en raison de la perte d'habitats attribuable à l'abattage d'arbres et à l'assèchement des marais.

L'utilisation de grenouilles comme appâts de pêche et la capture de ouaouarons pour la consommation (cuisses de grenouilles) ont contribué à réduire davantage la taille des populations.[22] Dans l'est de l'Ontario, les ouaouarons sont protégés. Il est interdit de les capturer. Il existe aussi certaines restrictions quant au nombre de grenouilles léopards qu'il est possible de prendre comme appâts.

Une eau de bonne qualité ... foi de grenouilles!
Grenouille verte, Lithobates clamitans.
Grenouille verte,
Lithobates clamitans.
Les grenouilles peuvent être des indicateurs de la qualité de l'eau. Un pourcentage élevé de malformations, comme un oeil ou un orteil manquant, est habituellement observé chez les grenouilles dans les régions où l'on trouve des polluants chimiques ou des infestations de parasites.

Heureusement, dans la rivière Rideau, seulement quelques grenouilles difformes ont été capturées au fil des ans, ce qui ne dépasse pas le pourcentage normalement observé dans une population naturelle. L'absence relative de malformations chez les grenouilles de la rivière Rideau est un indicateurs environnemental positif, qui démontre que la qualité de l'eau de la rivière est bonne.

Aidez les grenouilles!
Au printemps, participez à un programme de surveillance des grenouilles et des crapauds. Attention grenouilles de l'Ontario et le North American Amphibian Monitoring Program offrent des activités familiales et scolaires grâce auxquelles vous pourrez participer à la surveillance des populations de grenouilles de votre voisinage.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Attention grenouilles de l'Ontario
http://www.naturewatch.ca/francais/frogwatch/on/

North American Amphibian Monitoring Program
http://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/naamp/
(Site Web en anglais seulement.)

 

 Les amphibiens  
Puce.  
Puce.  
 Consultez  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  



 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  


Ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana.
Ouaouaron,
Lithobates catesbeiana.
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
 Images : Thomas Cook, Musée canadien de la nature