nature.ca The Nature of the Rideau River HomeFrançais
The ProjectHistory and GeographyRiver HealthAnimals and PlantsWater QualityBiodiversityAction!ResourcesTeachers
 
Aquatic Birds
Canada Goose, Branta canadensis.
Canada Goose, Branta canadensis.

Downtown Ducks

Aerial surveys conducted along the length of the Rideau River that passes through downtown Ottawa spotted an abundance of aquatic birds. Mallards and Canada Geese were using the urban areas quite heavily, perhaps because they know that in the city they are safe from hunters.


Wood Duck, Aix sponsa.
Wood Duck,
Aix sponsa
.


Rare Birds
Patient birdwatchers might be lucky enough to see a Common Loon, Redhead, or Wood Duck along the Rideau River. These birds are rarely seen there.

 

The Rideau River: An Important Migratory Staging Area

Birds of a feather flock together! And, happily for birdwatchers and hunters, aquatic birds flock to the Rideau River and its banks in great numbers.

Mallard, Anas platyrhynchos.
Mallard, Anas platyrhynchos.

In fact, 22 species of aquatic birds, almost all species of ducks and geese, were found during the Rideau River Biodiversity Project. The research, conducted by staff members and volunteers of the Canadian Wildlife Service, is the first extensive survey of its kind to be conducted along the Rideau River.

Great Blue Heron, Ardea herodias.
Great Blue Heron, Ardea herodias.

Several species of aquatic birds, such as Mallard and Wood Duck, are already known to nest and raise their young along the Rideau River. Aerial surveys conducted during the autumn of 1998 and spring of 1999 shed light on the River's seasonal role as a migratory staging area.

In spring, the migration route of numerous aquatic bird species takes them by the Rideau River, and many stop there for a breather. After having rested and eaten, they resume their journey to their nesting grounds further north.

In autumn these birds migrate to areas where the water doesn't freeze, usually in the southern and central United States. Aquatic birds return to the same place to breed and raise their young every year, usually the place where the females where raised. They even stop at the same rest places along the way!

The Rideau Bird Sanctuary, which is bordered by the Rideau River, is one of the most important migratory staging areas in the Ottawa Valley for aquatic birds!

next page

 

 Aquatic Birds
Bullet.
Arrow.
Arrow.
 Don't Overlook...
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.
Arrow.


 Meet the Relatives!  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
Arrow.  
  


Common Merganser, Mergus merganser.
Take a gander at our photo gallery!
A Project of the Canadian Museum of Nature
  
 Images: Canadian Museum of Nature, Hemera

nature.ca  La nature de la rivière Rideau AccueilEnglish  
Le ProjetHistoire et géographieÉtat de santéAnimaux et plantesQualité de l'eauBiodiversitéÀ l'actionRessourcesEnseignants
 
Les oiseaux aquatiques
Bernache du Canada, Branta canadensis.
Bernache du Canada,
Branta canadensis.

Des bernaches au centre-ville

Les recherches aériennes ont montré que la partie de la rivière située au centre-ville d'Ottawa n'était pas dépourvue d'oiseaux aquatiques, elle non plus. Des Canards colverts et des Bernaches du Canada fréquentent beaucoup les zones urbaines, peut-être parce qu'ils savent qu'en ville, ils sont à l'abri des chasseurs.


Canard branchu, Aix sponsa.
Canard branchu,
Aix sponsa.

Des oiseaux rares
Les observateurs d'oiseaux patients auront peut-être la chance de voir un Plongeon huard, un Fuligule à tête rouge ou un Canard branchu le long de la rivière Rideau. Ces oiseaux figurent parmi les espèces les plus rarement observées le long de la rivière.

 

La rivière Rideau, une importante halte migratoire

Qui se ressemble s'assemble, même chez les oiseaux aquatiques! Et heureusement pour les observateurs d'oiseaux et les chasseurs, ils fréquentent en grand nombre la rivière Rideau et ses abords.

Canard colvert, Anas platyrhynchos.
Canard colvert,
Anas platyrhynchos.

En fait, 22 espèces d'oiseaux aquatiques, en majorité des oies et des canards, ont été recensées dans le cadre du Projet sur la biodiversité de la rivière Rideau. La recherche, menée par des employés du Service canadien de la faune et des bénévoles, est la première de cette envergure à être réalisée le long de la rivière.

Grand Héron, Ardea herodias.
Grand Héron,
Ardea herodias.

On sait que plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux aquatiques, tels les Canards colverts et les Canards branchus, nichent le long de la rivière Rideau et y élèvent leurs petits. Toutefois, les recherches aériennes effectuées à l'automne 1998 et au printemps 1999 ont surtout mis en lumière le rôle de halte migratoire que joue la rivière à ces moments de l'année.

En effet, au printemps, de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux aquatiques migrent vers la rivière Rideau où ils font halte. Après s'être reposés et nourris, ils reprennent leur voyage vers leurs lieux de nidification, plus au nord.

L'automne, ces oiseaux migrent vers des sites où l'eau ne gèle pas, en général au sud et au centre des États-Unis. Chaque année, ils retournent au même endroit pour se reproduire et y élever leurs petits. Il s'agit habituellement de l'endroit où les femelles ont été élevées. De plus, ils s'arrêtent aux mêmes aires de repos en cours de route!

Le Refuge d'oiseaux de Rideau, situé en bordure de la rivière Rideau, est l'une des plus importantes haltes migratoires des oiseaux aquatiques dans la vallée de l'Outaouais!

page suivante

 

 Les oiseaux aquatiques
Puce.
Flèche.
Flèche.
 Consultez
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.
Flèche.


 Rencontrez la parenté!  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
Flèche.  
  


Tête d'oiseau
Voyez à qui appartient cette tête... dans notre album de photos!
Un projet du Musée canadien de la nature
  
 Images : Hemera, Musée canadien de la nature