Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > Dinosaurs > Brachiosaurus Next
Text: Dinosaurs.
Brachiosaurus
Photo: A Dinosaur, Brachiosaurus altithorax.
A dinosaur, Brachiosaurus altithorax
More Images »

Where are they found? AfricaEuropeNorth America

Map of the world.


Two recognized species of the sauropod dinosaur Brachiosaurus have been described since the first, Brachiosaurus altithorax, was discovered in Utah in 1900. The other well-known species is that of Brachiosaurus brancai, discovered several years later in Tanzania. Two other species have been discovered in Portugal and Algeria, but the skeletal evidence is incomplete, and the species have not been fully identified yet—so far, they have only been identified as belonging to the genus Brachiosaurus.

Brachiosaurus is one of the largest known land animals, if not the largest. These dinosaurs measured about 23 m (75 ft.) long, and were about 12.6 m (41 ft.) high. Various weights have been estimated for Brachiosaurus over the years, some up to 80 t (88 tn.). A recent estimate based upon a 3D reconstruction of the B. brancai mount that is displayed at the Berlin Museum of Natural History suggests the body mass may have been in the order of 38 t (42 tn.).

Unusually, the front legs of Brachiosaurus are longer than the back legs, like those of modern giraffes. The name reflects this characteristic: it is based on the Greek words brachion for "arm" and sauros for "lizard". Elmer Riggs described and named Brachiosaurus in 1903, when he was working for the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago.

Like all sauropods, Brachiosaurus was a herbivore. Fossil evidence suggests that these dinosaurs inhabited tropical riverbank environments, feeding on conifers, ginkgoes, ferns, horsetails and cycads.

Brachiosaurus lived approximately 150 million years ago, during the Late Jurassic Period. Later related forms lived into the Early Cretaceous Period.


More Images


Looking for photos?

The Canadian Museum of Nature has thousands of unique images reflecting the diversity of the natural world—including the photos and illustrations here in our Natural History NotebooksContact us to learn more!


To cite this page for personal use:
Brachiosaurus”. [Online]. Natural History Notebooks. Canadian Museum of Nature.
Last updated (Web site consulted

Previous
Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 
Text: Play the games and interactives from our Talisman Energy Fossil Gallery. Logo: Talisman Energy Fossil Gallery.

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Next Previous Next Previous

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Dinosaures > Brachiosaure
Texte : Dinosaures.
   
Brachiosaure
Photo : Un dinosaure, Brachiosaurus altithorax.
Un dinosaure, Brachiosaurus altithorax
Autres images »

Où vit cet animal? AfriqueAmérique du NordEurope

Carte du monde.


On a identifié deux nouvelles espèces de dinosaures sauropodes du genre Brachiosaurus depuis que la première espèce, Brachiosaurus altithorax, a été découverte en Utah en 1900. Brachiosaurus brancai, découverte quelques années plus tard en Tanzanie représente une espèce bien connue. On a mis au jour au Portugal et en Algérie deux autres espèces; les os fossiles sont encore trop partiels pour permettre une identification formelle de l'espèce, mais suffisants pour affirmer qu'ils appartiennent au genre Brachiosaurus.

Brachiosaurus est l'un des plus gros animaux terrestres connus, voire le plus gros. Ces dinosaures mesuraient environ 23 m (75 pi) de longueur et 12,6 m (41 pi) de hauteur. On a fourni plusieurs estimations de son poids au cours des années, certaines avoisinant les 80 t (88 ti). Selon des études récentes réalisées sur le modèle 3D d'un B. brancai du Musée d'histoire naturelle de Berlin, la masse corporelle serait de l'ordre de 38 t (42 ti).

Fait inhabituel, les pattes avant des brachiosaures sont plus longues que ses pattes arrière, un peu comme les girafes actuelles. D'ailleurs son nom met en évidence cette caractéristique : il vient des mots grecs brachion qui veut dire « bras » et sauros qui signifie « lézard ». C'est Elmer Riggs, alors paléontologue au Field Museum of Natural History de Chicago, qui a décrit et nommé Brachiosaurus en 1903.

Comme tous les sauropodes, Brachiosaurus était un herbivore. L'étude des fossiles permet de penser que ces dinosaures occupaient les rivages des rivières tropicales et se nourrissaient de conifères, de ginkgos, de fougères, de prêles et de cycadophytes.

Les brachiosaures existaient il y a environ 150 millions d'années pendant le Jurassique tardif. Plus tard, au cours du Crétacé précoce, vivaient des formes de dinosaures apparentées.


Autres images


Texte: Des dinos en 3D! Regardez-les surgir du néant dans des animations époustouflantes. Manipulez des modèles 3D de fossiles à votre guise. Photo: image de l'animation Un bout de chemin avec un Chasmosaure.


Notice bibliographique pour un usage personnel :
« Brachiosaure ». [En direct]. Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Musée canadien de la nature.
Dernière mise à jour :  (Site Web consulté le

Bouton : précédent.
Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 
Texte : Au jeu! Découvrez les jeux et les activités interactives de la Galerie des fossiles Talisman Energy. Logo : Galerie des fossiles Talisman Energy.

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?

Bouton : précédent. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : Précédent.