Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > The Bering Isthmus - Natural History Notebooks

The Bering Isthmus - Natural History Notebooks

Map of Beringia.

Five hundred years ago, a Jesuit priest speculated that the Native American descendents of Adam and Eve migrated on foot to North America across a land connection located somewhere in the northwest. A century later, the Scandinavian navigator Vitus Bering charted the northwest coastline and the narrow body of water that separates Alaska from Siberia.

That 90-km wide (55 mi.) strait is now called the Bering Strait, and the long-vanished land connection, the Bering Isthmus. The connection—sometimes called a land bridge—and the land that encompassed it on both coasts are called Beringia.

This land connection existed several times during the Pleistocene Epoch. This was the latest glacial epoch (an ice age), and it began approximately 2 million years ago and ended around 10 000 years ago. The land connection formed because in glacial times, water gets locked up in snow and ice on the land in the form of massive ice sheets kilometres thick. Ocean levels drop as a consequence. When the ocean level dropped 100 m (300 ft.) during the last glacial episode, the relatively shallow shelf of land between Asia and North America was exposed, and the two continents were joined by a broad isthmus. The Bering Isthmus was submerged once again about 11 000 years ago, when the climate warmed, the glaciers melted and the ocean rose.

The Bering Isthmus formed the central part of Beringia, which at its peak was about 2700 km (1,700 mi.) across. It extended from the Kolyma River and Kamchatka peninsula in Siberia, through Alaska and Yukon at least to northern Banks Island in the Northwest Territories.

Beringia was mainly a steppe-like grassland occupied by plants and animals, many of which eventually spread into North America from Eurasia or, rarely, in the opposite direction. Many northern animals, such as caribou, moose, muskoxen, wolves and lemmings, arrived in North America via this route. So did mammoths, the giants of the Pleistocene.

The human hunters that ate these creatures followed them. Archaeological evidence suggests that people first occupied eastern Siberia about 35 000 years ago, and Yukon (Bluefish Caves, Old Crow and Dawson areas) about 25 000 to 30 000 years ago. Recently, genetic studies revealed that Natives in both South and North America share a unique genetic variant, one that proves their ancestors came from a single source. The only other place in the world this genetic marker has been found is eastern Siberia. Thus, the evidence is clear that the Bering Isthmus played an essential role in the human colonization of North America.

[Map: Russ Brooks].



Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Isthme de Béring - Carnets d'histoire naturelle

Isthme de Béring - Carnets d'histoire naturelle

Carte de la Béringie.

Il y a cinq siècles, un jésuite émit l'idée que les Autochtones d'Amérique descendaient d'Adam et d'Ève et que leurs ancêtres étaient arrivés en Amérique du Nord en traversant à pied un pont terrestre situé quelque part au nord-ouest. Un siècle plus tard, le navigateur scandinave Vitus Bering cartographiait les côtes nord-ouest et le bras de mer qui sépare l'Alaska de la Sibérie.

On appelle détroit de Béring ce passage de 90 km de largeur (55 mi) et isthme de Béring, le pont terrestre qui existait jadis à cet endroit. La Béringie désigne précisément ces terres autrefois émergées et les régions avoisinantes sur les deux continents.

Ce pont terrestre a émergé à plusieurs reprises au cours du Pléistocène. Le Pléistocène est la dernière époque glaciaire (époque glaciaire), qui a commencé il y a environ 2 millions d'années pour se terminer il y a quelque 10 000 ans. Ce pont s'est formé parce que, durant les glaciations, l'eau se trouvait emprisonnée dans la neige et la glace des énormes glaciers de plusieurs kilomètres d'épaisseur qui couvraient les continents. Cela eut pour conséquence de faire baisser le niveau des mers. Lorsque le niveau des océans a chuté de 100 m (300 pi) au cours du dernier épisode glaciaire, le plateau relativement peu profond entre l'Asie et l'Amérique du Nord a émergé et les deux continents ont été reliés par un large pont terrestre. Cet isthme a de nouveau été englouti sous les eaux il y a environ 11 000 ans, quand le climat plus doux a entraîné la fonte des glaciers et, donc, la hausse du niveau de la mer.

L'isthme de Béring forme la partie centrale de la Béringie qui, lors de son extension maximale, mesurait 2700 km (1 700 milles). Elle s'étendait du fleuve Kolyma et de la presqu'île du Kamtchatka en Sibérie, englobait l'Alaska et le Yukon et s'étirait au moins jusqu'au nord des îles Banks dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Vaste steppe herbeuse, la Béringie était colonisée par des espèces végétales et animales qui se propageaient de l'Eurasie vers l'Amérique du Nord et rarement dans la direction opposée. De nombreux mammifères nordiques, dont le caribou, l'orignal, le boeuf musqué, le loup et le lemming, sont arrivés en Amérique du Nord par cette route. C'est aussi le cas du mammouth, ce géant du Pléistocène.

Les humains qui chassaient ces bêtes sont arrivés à leur suite. Des découvertes archéologiques ont permis de dater à 35 000 avant aujourd'hui la première occupation humaine de la Sibérie de l'Est et entre 25 000 ans et 30 000 ans, celle du Yukon (grottes Bluefish, régions d'Old Crow et de Dawson). Selon de récentes études génétiques, les Autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord et de l'Amérique du Sud présentent un trait génétique unique, lequel indiquerait qu'ils descendent d'ancêtres communs. La Sibérie orientale est le seul autre endroit au monde où ce marqueur génétique a été trouvé. Cela prouve donc que l'isthme de Béring a joué un rôle essentiel dans la colonisation humaine de l'Amérique du Nord.

[Carte : Russ Brooks].



Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?